[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 54°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 47°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Students take part in walk-a-thon

Wednesday, July 18, 2007

Staunton Elementary School students, with assistance from the PTO, brought in more than $3,000 as they finished out the 2006-07 school year with a new fitness and fundraising activity.

After observing other Clay County schools conduct successful walk-a-thons, the Staunton Parent Teacher Organization decided to organize one as an end-of-the-year activity for the students.

A pledge form was given to each student and they were encouraged to ask friends and relatives to pledge money for the school, either by number of laps walked or as a donation for a set amount.

Of the students participating, 138 of 296 took part during their recess time either before or after lunch and were rewarded each day with either a popsicle or juice box.

Most students walked between 20 and 30 laps in five sessions.

When all funds were turned in, the students raised $3,038.01.

"The walk-a-thon was really fun," said third-grader Lucas Schorr. "I can't believe we raised $3,000. We did a lot of walking that week."

PTO mother Jennifer Latham agreed, saying, "this was a very successful fundraiser. The students were the ones who raised the money, and it also motivated them to keep fit."

Students from every class participated, and the student who took in the most money from each class was rewarded with a Wal-Mart gift card.

Kindergarten winners included Nicolas Henke and Chloe Garrard while first-grade winners were Mariah Brown, Devin Wallen, and Hailey Henke.

Second-grade winners included Bailey Fry and Lucas Schorr. One class additionally raised more than $400, the most money of any of the classes, and was rewarded with a pizza party.

Third-grade winners included Lindsey Drake and Gabbrielle Horrall.

In addition, Hannah Barnett won the drawing held for all the students who turned in their money by the deadline.

Henry Batchelor and Mikayla Rowan won at the fourth-grade level while fifth-grade winners included Shelby Dupin and Mackenzie Brush.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: