[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 47°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Eels awarded spots on All-TRC squads

Friday, June 13, 2003

Top: Clay City's Cody Gerber awaits a pitch. Gerber was named to the All-TRC baseball second team.

Bottom: Christina Haymaker was named to the All-TRC second team for the 2003 softball season.

By Carey Fox, Sports Editor

Despite disappointingly early ends to the baseball and softball seasons for Clay City this year, postseason accolades have begun to roll in for several Eel players.

The baseball squad finished the Tri-River Conference portion of their season with a 3-2 mark behind Shakamak who was unbeaten at 5-0. The Eels placed in a tie for second with Linton and North Central.

For the Eels, Josh Stoelting received first team All-Conference recognition while Elliott Booe, Brock Dyer, Cody Gerber and catcher Greg Long all were part of the second team All-TRC squad.

Of those players, all will graduate this season except for sophomore pitcher Dyer.

For the softball program, pitcher Kari Bettenbrock was named to the first team squad and Christina Haymaker was part of the second team.

Other members of the baseball first team include: (in alpabetical order) Daniel Allen, Linton; Brian Barber, Shakamak; Andy Boyll, North Central; Neil Chambers, Union and Austin Witt, Shakamak. Second team members include: Ted Butler, Linton; Rodney Frederick, North Central; Josh McDaniel, Shakamak and Dustin Russell, North Central.

Honorable mention includes: Joey Axe, Union; Adam Brewer, Linton; Justin Eslinger, Union; Joe Hicks, North Central; Jason Neal, Linton and Dustin Pigg, Union.

Other members of the TRC softball first team inlclude; Danielle Austin, North Central; Nicole fougerousse, Shakamak; Whitney Golish, North Central; Megan Haag, North Central; Amanda Jones, Shakamak; Jenna Laxton, Union; Casey Simmons, Linton and Alina Secrest, Union.

Second team members: Jennifer Cox, North Central; Brittney Franklin, Linton; Alecia Gambill, Shakamak; Kristi Gentry, North Central; Stacey Secrest, Union; Sasha Stanton, Union; Cherise Walters, Shakamak and Heidi Ziekman, Union.

Honorable mention members are: Cristina Hoffer, Linton; Jacqi Ward, Linton and Marci York, Linton.

Members of the TRC baseball all star team will play June 26 at Northview High School versus the Western Indiana Conference All-Star team at 5 p.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: