[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 47°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Thiemann takes Junior Open title in Terre Haute

Friday, July 25, 2003

Soon to be Northview senior Amy Thiemann dethroned defending Terre Haute City Junior Open titlist Kelli Holloway on Thursday afternoon with a final round 77.

Thiemann maintained her three-stroke lead in the final round at Rea Park Golf Course to post the victory over Holloway who also carded a 77 on Thursday.

The trophy should look good next to the one Thiemann won at the Brazil tournament a day before the Terre Haute tournament began.

Placing third in the 15-17 year old girls' group was Northview graduate Jennifer Dragan who shot a final round 74, the best in the Championship Flight on Thursday. Her score of 247 placed her ahead of Diana Price and Northview's Brittney Cheek.

Fellow classmate Tyler Akers placed fifth in the boys 15-17 age group Championship Flight with his final round of 76 for a three-day total of 230.

Matt Sherertz overcame Travis Smith in the final round to get the Junior Open title with his total of 216.

Sherertz shot a final round 71 to overcome Smith who began the day with a three-shot lead. Matt Cain placed third, ahead of Devon Klutey, Akers and Jeff Dodson.

In the boys' 13-14 age group, Darrin LaForce took the top spot in the Championship Flight with his total of 231, 11 strokes ahead of Jordan Mayfield. Phillip Myers was third, Ian White fourth and Clay City's Carson Hendrix placed fifth with a stellar round of 76 to cap the tourney.

Topping the First Flight was Clay City's Tyler Harrison who scored a 274 in the three-day tournament.

Rachel Pruett won the girls 13-14 year old tournament with her score of 247 which bested Whitney Crowley, Brazil's Millie Akers and Mary Beth Tribble.

In the boys' 11-12 year old group, Harrison Carmichael skipped by James Ellis by four strokes for the victory. Carmichael recorded a 242 while Ellis had a 246. Brazil's Austin Akers was third ahead of Kade Baker.

Dylan Reyher won the 10-under group with his 130, ahead of Nathan Pirtle and Shelby Stewart. Nicole Anderson won the girls' 10-under title with a 185. Ashley Alumbaugh and Morgan Patterson followed. Bree Opremchak won the girls' 11-12 year old group with a three-day total of 392.

Boys 15-17

Championship Flight (Top-Six)

1. Matt Sherertz73-72-71-- 216
2. Travis Smith69-73-76-- 218
3. Matt Cain71-76-76-- 223
4. Devon Klutey78-77-73-- 228
5. Tyler Akers74-80-76-- 230
6. Jeff Dodson77-81-77-- 235

First Flight

1. Jason Ireland238
2. Justin Miller250
3. Josh Greasor251

Girls 15-17 (Top-Six)

Championship Flight

1. Amy Thiemann76-85-77-- 238
2. Kelli Holloway76-88-77-- 241
3. Jennifer Dragan81-92-74-- 247
4. Diana Price86-96-88-- 270
5. Brittney Cheek88-99-85-- 272
6. Christine Dodson95-98-84-- 277

Boys 13-14

Championship Flight (Top-Six)

1. Darrin LaForce74-86-71-- 231
2. Jordan Mayfield81-80-81-- 242
3. Phillip Myers83-82-82-- 247
4. Ian White85-85-83-- 253
5. Carson Hendrix84-96-76-- 256
6. Sean Brinkman84-90-82-- 256

First Flight

1. Tyler Harrison274
2. Chris Shoultz274
3. John Callahan275

Girls 13-14

Championship Flight (Top Six)

1. Rachel Pruett78-93-76-- 247
2. Whitney Crowley91-98-90-- 279
3. Millie Akers96-115-89-- 300
4. Mary Beth Tribble112-113-108-- 333
5. Savanah Englert130-124-123-- 377
6. Kayla Franklin134-139-133-- 406

Boys 11-12

Championship Flight (Top-Six)

1. Harrison Carmichael77-85-80-- 242

2. James Ellis 74-91-81-- 246

3. Austin Akers84-82-83-- 249
4. Kade Baker82-85-83-- 250
5. Tom Anderson93-99-88-- 280
6. Nick Gayso98-96-88-- 282

First Flight

1. Jacob Smith331
2. Logan Laswell331
3. Pat Harpeman336
4. Nathan Thornton336

Girls 11-12

1. Bree Opremchak392

Boys 10-under

1. Dylan Reyher130
2. Nathan Pirtle132
3. Shelby Stewart134
4. Torey Fox148
5. Jackson Jarvis158

Girls 10-under

1. Nicole Anderson185
2. Ashley Alumbaugh194
3. Morgan Patterson200

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: