[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 68°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 46°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

California native, Hagen, earns 1st sprint victory

Monday, July 12, 2004

Darren Hagen (#11) of Riverside, Ca, slides low past Indianapolis' Bill Baker during heat race action Saturday at Lincoln Park Speedway. Hagen would go on to win his first feature event at Lincoln Park while Baker placed third.

- DeMoss earns $1,000 WolfPack payday

PUTNAMVILLE -- California native Darren Hagen belatedly celebrated his 18th birthday with the first sprint car victory of his career Saturday night at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Hagen was the beneficiary of late race contact between Bloomington's Bobby Stines, running in third place, and race leader Jimmy Laser.

With just three laps remaining in the feature, Laser held a slight advantage over Hagen, who began the race from the pole.

Hagen, holding fast to the bottom of the track, was battling with Laser for the race lead as Stines closed rapidly on the outside. With Stines running hot on Laser's heels on the high side, Hagen remained low.

With just two laps remaining, Stines slid hard through turns three and four in an attempt to carry momentum under Laser, but instead made contact with the Plainfield driver.

The resulting contact spun both drivers, allowing Hagen to regain his earlier lead and take the checkered flag on the restart. Laser would finish in 14th position with Stines picking up a black flag for rough driving and a 15th place finish.

Kevin Chambers of Bloomington moved into second place with ill Baker in third, Dough Heck in fourth and Shawn Krockenberger was fifth.

"I just want to thank my Mom and Dad for helping me with this opportunity," commented an ecstatic Hagen after picking up a $1,200 check. "I've never been beat on my birthday and last week was it. We got rained out that night and tonight I got the win. Without Jack and Judy Yeley I wouldn't even be here," said the Riverside, California driver. "Jack (Yeley) told me to stay low and it would be harder to pass me and he was right."

In the Wolfpack Challenge for Modifieds on Saturday night, Ray Humphrey and John DeMoss hooked for an exciting battle.

Each driver won their heat race along with Jack Taylor and Lincoln Park veteran Carlos Bumgardner who has had great success this season at the 5/16th mile oval.

In the feature, Humphrey jumped out to an early advantage with DeMoss close behind. The two were clearly the class of the field on Saturday, beginning to lap cars fewer than 10 laps into the feature event.

The lapped traffic proved to be the key for DeMoss who was able get past Humphrey near the midpoint of the race. "Well I think, being in second, I was able to get a better scope of the traffic in front of us," commented DeMoss afterwards.

DeMoss used that vision to edge past Humphrey and take off to victory as Humphrey got caught behind Wes McClara and James Reynolds on a late race restart.

The victory was the first in the WolfPack Challenge series for DeMoss and earned him a $1,000 winner's share.

Also of note was the 45 car count for the event which provided some excellent racing for the Lincoln Park fans.

In Super Stock action, David Wallen started the feature from the pole position after a second place finish in his heat race.

However, Chris Hillman would dash to the front for the early lead over Curt Leonard and Kirby Morrow.

Doug McCullough of Avon quickly moved into a challenge for the top spot with Hillman and A.J. Smith of Danville.

Hillman would eventually bobble headed into turn two and McCullough quickly stepped through the doorway and into the lead. He wouldn't let go in winning his third feature in a row at Lincoln Park and sixth of the season.

Hillman, McCullough, Wes Freeland and Smith were heat winners.

Lloyd Walls of Terre Haute was the Bomber feature winner, coming from his eighth place starting position to edge out Martinsville's Mike Moody and Gib Hamm III.

On Saturday, Lincoln Park Speedway will play host to the 17th Annual Indiana Sprint Week event along with Super Stocks and Bombers. Admission for adults is $20.

Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, IN

Saturday, July 10

Sprint Car Feature

1. Darren Hagen, 2. Kevin Chambers, 3. Bill Baker, 4. Doug Heck, 5. Shawn Krockenberger, 6. Jeff Miller, 7. Rick Hayden, 8. Chris Kopczynski, 9. Mike Mossi, 10. Bill Baker, 11. Jason Holt, 12. Karl Roethmeier, 13. Tony Sevier, 14. Jimmy Laser, 15. Bobby Stines, 16. Eric Burns, 17. Doug Rolison, 18. Mark Nieft Jr. 19. Alex Pruett, 20. Daren Krockenberger, 21. Aaron Mosley, 22. Rick Vaughn (DNS).

Heat winners: Laser, Baker, Holt, D.Krockenberger

Modified Feature

Wolfpack Challenge

1. John DeMoss, 2. Ray Humphrey, 3. Rob Fuqua, 4. Ritchie Lex, 5. Matt Botnecht, 6. Jack Taylor, 7. Craig Conyer, 8. Lonnie Cassity, 9. Carlos Bumgardner, 10. Gary Barrow, 11. Travis Shoulders, 12. Tom Russell, 13. James Reynolds, 14. Wes McClara, 15. Michael Sterrett, 16. Brent Payne 17. Joey Cox, 18. Daniel Lewellen, 19. Josh Ferguson, 20. Elvin Herschberger, 21. Marvin Burton.

Semifeature winners: Russell, Herschberger

Heat winners: DeMoss, Humphrey, C.Bumgardner, Taylor

Super Stock Feature

1. Doug McCullough, 2. David Kikendall Jr. 3. A.J. Smith, 4. David Woolston, 5. Chris Hillman, 6. Aaron Zellers, 7. Curt Leonard, 8. Paul Wright, 9. Wes Freeland, 10. Jeff Starks, 11. Kirby Morrow, 12. Kent Robinson, 13. Dennis Morgan, 14. Joe Jeffries, 15. Tony Erdly, 16. Gary Long, 17. David Meadows, 18. Jerry Hepworth, 19. David Wallen, 20. Zach Carney.

Semifeature winners: Paul Wright.

Heat winners: Freeland, McCullough, Smith, Hillman.

Bomber Feature

1. Lloyd Walls, 2. Mike Moody, 3. Gib Hamm III, 4. Jordan Williams, 5. Travis Heramb, 6. Ron Wallen Sr. 7. Michael Wright, 8. Sean Yakel, 9. Chris Dent, 10. Justin Cary, 11. Derrall Smallwood, 12. Ron Smith, 13. Gregg Riser, 14. Dallas King, 15. Kevin Helton, 16. Dale Lewis, 17. David Bumgardner II, 18. Kyle Woolard, 19. Jason Thornburg, 20. Shayne McElhinney.

Heat winners: Walls, Smallwood, Yakel, Shepard

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: