[The Brazil Times nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 54°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 43°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Miles earns Lincoln Park Modified win

Monday, July 26, 2004

Brazil's Sean Yakel works his way through turn four at Lincoln Park Speedway Saturday night. Yakel would go on to finish 16th in the feature event. Terre Haute's Harry Shepard would take the top sport.

- Trammel victorious in Super Stocks, Shepard in Bombers -

PUTNAMVILLE -- With Indiana Sprint Week headlining the Saturday night card in Terre Haute, the UMP Modifieds took top billing at Lincoln Park Speedway this week.

Thirty-six Modified competitors were in the pits for Saturday's action with some heavy hitters making appearances.

Shelby Miles, currently third in the point standings at Bloomington Speedway, brought his O'Neal Modified to the Putnamville oval and took home the top prize over Tim Dierlam and Paul Bumgardner.

Miles' evening got off to a rough start in his heat race when contact coming off turn two broke his steering and sent him to the pits.

Forced to come back through the B-Main, Miles dominated the race and regained his qualifying time for the night for the feature.

Starting up front for the main event, Miles drove away from his competition, leaving Dierlman and Bumgardner to battle for position behind him.

Lonnie Cassity took home fourth after winning his heat race and Tom Bixler Jr. took fifth place. Rob Brickert, Phil VanSant, Brad Robinson, Troy Whitkanack and Zach Fair rounded out the top 10.

The night was clouded somewhat in the early going by a nasty accident involving Josh Boller.

Boller got sideways near the flagstand and ended up in a barrel roll that culminated with a demolished racecar, and thankfully a shaken, but apparently okay, Boller.

In Super Stock action, Gary Trammell visited the 5/16th mile oval after a win at Bloomington on Friday night.

Trammell was the class of the field once more on Saturday, pulling away from Doug McCullough and Cullen Goodman early and eventually holding the pair off at the end.

Aaron Zellers was fourth and AJ Smith was fifth.

Harry Shepard would take home the victor's check in the Bomber Class on Saturday.

Shepard was quick all night long, dominating his heat race after a top notch effort in qualifying earlier in the evening.

After winning his heat race by almost a full straightaway, Shepard had few challengers in the feature as well.

He would lead Ron Smith and Lloyd Walls across the finish line.

Walls had perhaps the most remarkable comeback after starting the feature from the back, 19th position. He would charge through the field, narrowly missing a couple of accidents that brought out the caution flag.

He would stay out of trouble while chasing the leaders. However, he would eventually run out of laps, placing third. Travis Heramb and Ron Wallen Sr. rounded out the top five.

Next Saturday will see a return to regular action with Sprints, Super Stocks and Bombers along with the UMP Modifieds.

UMP Modified Feature

1. Shelby Miles, 2. Tim Dierlam, 3. Paul Bumgardner, 4. Lonnie Cassity, 5. Tom Bixler Jr., 6. Rob Brickert, 7. Phil VanSant, 8. Brad Robinson, 9. Troy Whitkanack, 10. Zach Fair, 11. Brent Payne, 12. Craig Conyer, 13. Gary Barrow, 14. Joey Cox, 15. Michael Sterrett, 16. Bob Jarrett, 17. Brad Thrasher, 18. Al Flick, 19. Gary Hayden, 20. Jimmy Hayden

Heat winners: Whitkanack, Cassity, Fair, J.Hayden

Semifeature winner: Miles

Super Stock Feature

1. Gary Trammel, 2. Doug McCullough, 3. Cullen Goodman, 4. Aaron Zellers, 5. AJ Smith, 6. Curt Leonard, 7. Joe Jeffries, 8. Ben Carter, 9. Jeff Starks, 10. David Wallen, 11. David Kikendall Jr. 12. Ben Williams, 13. Kirby Morrow, 14. Bruce Stantz, 15. Tony Erdly, 16. Todd Brummett, 17. Wes Freeland, 18. Jerry Hepworth, 19. Will Fagg, 20. Michael Conner

Bomber Feature

1. Harry Shepard, 2. Ron Smith, 3. Lloyd Walls, 4. Travis Heramb, 5. Ron Wallen Sr. 6. Michael Wright, 7. Robb Yaw, 8. David Bumgardner II, 9. Josh Fagg, 10. Derrall Smallwood, 11. Orville Engler Jr. 12. Justin Cary, 13. Dale Lewis, 14. Gregg Riser, 15. Dallas King, 16. Sean Yakel, 17. Kevin Helton, 18. Monty Beaman, 19. Scott Bennett

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: