[The Brazil Times nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 60°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

- McCullough, Walls and Brickert earn victories -

Monday, August 2, 2004

Doug McCullough (far) and Danny Harris battled to the wire in Super Stock action at LPS. McCullough got the win.

PUTNAMVILLE -- Doug McCullough continued his hot streak this season at Lincoln Park Speedway in the Super Stock class Saturday night, picking up his seventh feature win of the year.

McCullough and Danny Harris provided the night's tightest battle, thrilling LPS fans with their dual in the Super Stock nightcap.

The pair spent the better part of 10 laps nearly neck-and-neck. McCullough found his quick line around the top groove while Harris rode the bottom with a great deal of success. Harris was quicker through the turns, nosing out front, but McCullough was quickest on the straight-aways and was able to maintain his advantage to the checkered flag.

The victory enables McCullough to close Dave Kikendall Jr's points lead even further within the class. Heading into Saturday's action, McCullough trailed Kikendall Jr. by 17 points. Kikendall placed third in the feature with AJ Smith and Mike Wright Jr. rounding out Saturday's top-five.

In sprint car action, Jamestown's Jon Stanbrough was the class of the field with teammate Kent Christian the biggest mover on the night.

Christian took the green flag outside the top-10 but patiently worked his way through the field to challenge front runners Scotty Weir and Danny Williams Jr.

The trio fought their way through lapped traffic late in feature action with Christian getting the best of Weir with fewer than five laps remaining.

Stanbrough was uncatchable however and picked up a $1,200 check for his efforts. Lincoln Park points leader, Bloomington's Bobby Stines, placed fifth on the night with Aaron Mosley, Alex Shanks, AJ Anderson, Shawn Krockenberger and Jared Fox rounded out the top-10.

In Modified action, Monrovia's Rob Brickert earned the night's top spot with Greencastle's Paul Bumgardner the runnerup, Gary Barrow, Rob Fuqua and Jim Moore placing fifth.

Terre Haute's Lloyd Walls continued his march towards the top of the track points chase on Saturday with a feature victory over Harry Shepard.

Walls entered the night trailing Travis Heramb by 54 points but with his victory and Heramb's eighth place finish, should close the gap a bit.

Greencastle's Darrell Smallwood maintained his second place spot in the points with a third place finish in the feature ahead of Michael Wright and Josh Fagg.

Sprint Feature

1. Jon Stanbrough, 2. Kent Christian, 3. Scotty Weir, 4. Danny Williams Jr., 5. Bobby Stines, 6. Aaron Mosley, 7. Alex Shanks, 8. AJ Anderson, 9. Shawn Krockenberger, 10. Jared Fox, 11. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 12. Doug Heck, 13. Lance Hayden, 14. Jason Holt, 15. Kevin Chambers, 16. Kenny Lacey, 17. Mike Gibbs, 18. Wil Newlin, 19. Shane Wade, 20. Kenny Carmichael

Heat winners: Stanbrough, S.Williams, D.Williams, Heck

Semi Feature winner: K.Carmichael

Modified Feature

1. Rob Brickert, 2. Paul Bumgardner, 3. Gary Barrow, 4. Rob Fuqua, 5. Jim Moore, 6. Craig Conyer, 7. Gary Hayden, 8. Gary Ricketts, 9. James Tumey, 10. Joey Cox, 11. Brad Thrasher, 12. Tom Bixler Jr., 13. Dan Johnson, 14. Josh Boller, 15. Bob Robinson, 16. Brent Payne, 17. Brad Robinson, 18. Michael Sterrett, 19. Rick Fulford, 20. Schuyler Nahre

Semi Feature winner: Thrasher

Super Stock Feature

1. Doug McCullough, 2. Danny Harris, 3. Dave Kikendall Jr., 4. AJ Smith, 5. Mike Wright Jr., 6. Joe Jeffries, 7. David Wallen, 8. Cullen Goodman, 9. Kirby Morrow, 10. Lloyd Bumgardner, 11. Robert Farris, 12. Curt Leonard, 13. Harold Grayless, 14. Kris Starks, 15. Jeff Wellum, 16. Aaron Zellers, 17. Jeff Starks

Heat winners: Harris, AJ Smith, Kikendall Jr

Semi Feature winner: Farris

Bomber Feature

1. Lloyd Walls, 2. Harry Shepard, 3. Derrall Smallwood, 4. Michael Wright, 5. Josh Fagg, 6. Dale Lewis, 7. Ron Wallen Sr., 8. Travis Heramb, 9. Jon Bogard, 10. Justin Cary, 11. Sean Yakel, 12. William Brewer, 13. Robb Yaw, 14. Tom Williams, 15. James Cass

Heat winners: Bogard, Bennett, Shepard, Yaw

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: