[The Brazil Times nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 53°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Champions crowned at Lincoln Park Speedway

Monday, September 20, 2004

PUTNAMVILLE -- One of the largest car counts of the season greeted a great crowd on Champion's Night at Lincoln Park Speedway Saturday night.

Nearly 130 cars packed the pits for a full night of racing that would determine the season's point championships at the 5/16th mile clay oval in downtown Putnamville.

Fans were not disappointed as two of the four classes' titles were not determined until the night's feature events were over.

In Modified action, Craig Conyer came into this week's card with a scant two point lead over Greencastle's Paul Bumgardner. Both drivers made the evening's feature with Bumgardner starting sixth and Conyer starting from the 12th position.

Joey Cox started from the point followed by Tom Russell and Lonnie Cassity and Lee Hobbs.

Hobbs would take the early lead in the race followed by Russell and Cassity as a couple of yellow flags kept the field tight.

Both Conyer and Bumgardner moved forward in the field as the green flag flew once more. But Bumgardner was holding fast to his position several in front of Conyer.

However, with only a handful of laps remaining, Bumgardner, running on the low groove into turn three clipped a tire barrier in the infield with his left front which ended his evening and left Conyer to remain steady and take home the points title.

With Bumgardner forced to watch the end of the feature from the infield, Hobbs ran away to the feature victory, but Conyer would take home the points title after working his way forward to a third place finish behind Cassity. Jay Humphrey finished in fourth with Russell in fifth.

The Super Stock points chase was also down to the wire as leader Doug McCullough needed a 14th place finish or better in the feature to take the championship.

Dave Kikendall Jr. remained in second place and would get to start the feature from the outside of the front row with McCullough starting fifth behind polesitter Joe Whisler, Michael Wright and Donnie Smiley.

With the green flag, Kikendall took the advantage and McCullough charged into second place ahead of Whisler when the yellow flag came out early for a spin by Wes Freeland.

Things got very interesting on the restart as Kikendall's transmission went south coming off turn four which left McCullough and the rest of the field little room to maneuver.

McCullough would get into the rear of Kikendall's slowing car with the rest of the field scrambling to avoid contact as the yellow came out. Kikendall's car coasted to a stop in turn one to end his night.

Unfortunately for McCullough, after being involved in the caution, he was sent to the rear of the field along with Whisler for the restart.

With his points situation suddenly up in the air, McCullough began a manic charge through the field when the green flag came out for new leader Steve Smiley.

Last week's winner Marty Cooper meanwhile was blasting his way from the rear of the field and took over the lead ahead of Smiley and Paul Wright, Donnie Smiley and Mike Wright Jr.

Cooper held his position as Doug Arnold, who also came from deep in the field, worked his way into second place ahead of Wright.

Arnold would give Cooper a couple of solid challenges especially after a caution flag with one lap remaining forced a restart. However, Cooper held tight to the lead for his second win in a row at LPS with Arnold in second, Wright in third and Aaron Zellers in fourth place. McCullough worked his way back into fifth place and held onto the points championship.

In the sprint car class, a field of 41 cars was represented well at LPS on Saturday night with Noblesville youngster Bryan Clauson taking home the feature victory in a dominating win.

Starting on the outside of the front row, the 15-year old Clauson checked out on the field early leaving the rest of the field to battle for the leftovers.

Seven laps into the race, Clauson had already reached the back of the field, but dealt with lapped traffic beautifully in claiming the night's $1,200 payday.

After finishing sixth in the Bloomington Speedway points race, native Bobby Stines would finish fifth on Saturday night to capture his first Lincoln Park Speedway points championship.

Mitch Cunningham placed second in the feature followed by Kent Christian and Shawn Krockenberger.

In the Bomber feature, Harry Shepard blasted through the field from his 19th starting spot all the way to fourth in just two laps and was up to challenge leader Lloyd Walls soon thereafter.

The pair would battle each other throughout the second half of the feature with Walls on the bottom groove and Shepard riding the rim around the top. With two laps remaining Shepard finally was able to get past Walls and hold off a late challenge for his sixth feature win of the season.

Travis Heramb was able to hold off Greencastle's Derrall Smallwood for the points title after Smallwood's evening ended shortly after the green flag in the feature.

The track will take a one week break before a special Oct. 2 show featuring Sprint cars, Non UMP topless Modifieds and Bombers in the "Racin' with D.O. Fan Fest" event. The Sprints will be running for a $2,000 payday in a 30 lap feature with a second $500 feature. Afterwards there will be open pits for the public and a large bonfire and party to be held with special awards to be presented.

Sprint Car Feature

1. Bryan Clauson, 2. Mitch Cunningham, 3. Kent Christian, 4. Shawn Krockenberger, 5. Bobby Stines, 6. Jason Knoke, 7. Jimmy Laser, 8. Josh Cunningham, 9. Bill Baker, 10. Kevin Chambers, 11. Steve Rone, 12. Kenny Carmichael, 13. Brian Gerster, 14. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 15. Dusty Wright, 16. Jake Scott, 17. Glenn Scott, 18. Scott Townsend, 19. Jeff Miller, 20. Chris Kopczynski, 21. Chad Compton.

Modified Feature

1. Lee Hobbs, 2. Lonnie Cassity, 3. Craig Conyer, 4. Jay Humphrey, 5. Tom Russell, 6. Joey Cox, 7. Chris Brewer, 8. Gary Ricketts, 9. Russ Freeland, 10. Rick Fulford, 11. Daniel Lewellen, 12. Wes McClara, 13. Mike Hicks, 14. Gary Hall, 15. Bob Robinson, 16. Paul Bumgardner, 17. Schuyler Nahre, 18. James Tumey, 19. Karl Rothemeier, 20. Jimmy Hayden (DNS).

Super Stock Feature

1. Marty Cooper, 2. Doug Arnold, 3. Paul Wright, 4. Aaron Zellers, 5. Doug McCullough, 6. Steve Smiley, 7. Mike Wright Jr., 8. AJ Smith, 9. Donnie Smiley, 10. David Wallen, 11. Kirby Morrow, 12. Curt Leonard, 13. Tony Erdly, 14. Joe Jeffries, 15. Joe Whisler, 16. David Kikendall, 17. Ben Williams, 18. Chris Bennett, 19. Wes Freeland, 20. Chuck Walden.

Bomber Feature

1. Harry Shepard, 2. Lloyd Walls, 3. Roger Absher, 4. Dale Lewis, 5. Mark Stevens, 6. Michael Wright, 7. Kyle Woolard, 8. David Bumgardner, 9. Kevin Helton, 10. Sean Yakel, 11. Darrin Dayhuff, 12. Orville Engler Jr., 13. Ron Wallen Sr., 14. Travis Heramb, 15. Steve Dayhuff, 16. Doug Dunagan, 17. Tom Williams, 18. -- , 19. Brian Waltman, 20. Derrall Smallwood

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: