[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 37°F  
High: 39°F ~ Low: 28°F
Friday, Mar. 27, 2015

Valpo girls win third consecutive IHSAA title; Northridge boy win

Monday, November 1, 2004

SEELYVILLE -- The Valparaiso girls picked up their third consecutive cross country championship at the LaVern Gibson Championship course on Saturday afternoon.

The Vikings were paced by four runners in the top-25 and scored 87 tam points to best Westfield's 112.

Northridge claimed the boys team title with 104 points to edge out Carmel's 131 points.

The race was run in bright, sunny conditions on a very soggy course. Gusting winds of more than 25 miles per hour, however, wreaked havoc on the field of runners with many collapsing and some crawling as they crossed the finish line.

Fort Wayne Concordia's Adele Mitchell was the girls' champion, following in 2003 champion, and teammate, Alissa McKaig's footsteps. She would cross the finish line in 14:34, six seconds ahead of Rachel Stichter of Wawasee who was running with a stress fracture in her foot.

Valparaiso was paced by fifth place Lauren Hardesty followed by Amanda Hardesty in 16th and Andrea Kent in 18th place. Ashley Pence was 25th for the Vikings who should be very dangerous next season since their top four runners are all juniors.

Hamilton Southeastern's Justin Roeder won the boys' race in 16:06, pulling away over the final kilometer to defeat runner-up Ryan Byrne of North Harrison by two seconds. De-Sean Turner of Warren Central placed third.

Northview's Emily Pugh finished in 103rd place overall, running a 16:27. Afterwards, Pugh admitted to being a little disappointed in her time. "I definitely wish I could have done better," said Pugh. "There were a lot of fast runners here (Saturday). The wind definitely slowed me down, but everyone had to run in the same conditions."

Her coach Larry Stuckey seconded Pugh's opinion. "(Emily) really had a great week of practice and a great career. This just wasn't her day today," commented Stuckey. "(Her finish) will hurt for awhile but she's strong and she'll bounce back."

Terre Haute North's Kayla Alexander came through with a 13th place finish in 15:12 to lead the Patriots' team to a 16th place finish with teammate Josh Bedford coming home in 23rd place overall in 16:35.

For Pugh, whose high school cross country career comes to a close, her eyes have already turned to the Spring track season.

"We were talking about (track) earlier this week," said Pugh. "We've got about six months until track season starts. I'll probably take a couple of weeks off and start getting ready."

Indiana High School State Cross Country Championships

At LaVern Gibson Championship Course

Boys Team Scores: Northridge 104, Carmel 131, Franklin Central 144, Fort Wayne Snider 147, Columbus North 152, Portage 202, Indianapolis Chatard 209, Hamilton Southeastern 223, Crown Point 263, Elkhart Memorial 273, Blackford 295, East Noble 300, Chesterton 337, Lafayette Jeff 340, Edgewood 344, Bloomington North 344, Bloomington South 372, Heritage Hills 384, Valparaiso 412, Evansville Mater Dei 469

Top-30 (Top-25 All-State)

1. Justin Roeder (HSE) 16:06, 2. Ryan Byrne (NH) 16:08, 3. De-Sean Turner (WC) 16:10, 4. Scott Keeney (Frankfort) 16:15, 5. Robert Moldovan (FWN) 16:18, 6. Adam Settle (FC) 16:18, 7. Tim Sirbek (HM) 16:21, 8. Tony Krock (EN) 16:22, 9. Michael Disher (Sp) 16:23, 10. Michael Pabody (Sp) 16:25, 11. Braxton Fritz (Nr) 16:26.2, 12. Jaurice Dye (EM) 16:26.6 ,13. Brand Untrauer (Mt. Vernon Hancock) 16:28, 14. Joel Shaw (Carmel) 16:28, 15. Jordan Kyle (HSE) 16:29, 16. Brice Cleland (Pike) 16:30, 17. Max Gustaitis (BN) 16:30, 18. Darryl Stevenson (Ind. N.Central) 16:31, 19. Rady Placencia (Garrett) 16:32, 20. Sam Baker (CN) 16:32, 21. Adam Martin (Ch) 16:33, 22. Joe Rayman (W.Laf.) 16:34, 23. Josh Bedford (THN) 16:35, 24. Josh Foss (Marion) 16:36, 25. Ken Collins (Nr) 16:39, 26. Brock Hagerman (Pend. Heights) 16:41, 27. Aaron Kremer (Ind. Chat.) 16:41, 28. Adam Greeen (Frn. Cent.) 16:41, 29. Adam Lenz (Blackford) 16:44, 30. Sean Jennings (Seymour) 16:46.

Girls Team Results

Valparaiso 87, Westfield 112, Indianapolis Chatard 123, Carmel 145, Columbus North 155, Northridge 170, Chesterton 204, Carroll (Allen) 208, Lawrence North 272, Penn 298, Culver Academy 298, Portage 300, Fort Wayne Concordia 319, Silver Creek 351, Fort Wayne Snider 370, Terre Haute North 405, Bloomington North 409, Homestead 427, Jasper 486, Bloomington South 560

Top-30 (Top-25 All State)

1. Adele Mitchell (FWC) 14:34, 2. Rachel Stichter (Wawasee) 14:40, 3. Alexandra Banfich (CA) 14:43, 4. Sarah Kene (Ch) 14:53, 5. Lauren Hardesty (V) 14:57, 6. Megan Jackson (Nr) 14:58, 7. Stephanie Greer (Roncalli) 14:59, 8. Maggie Bingham (W) 15:06, 9. Chelsea Blanchard (Carr) 15:07, 10. Kristina Krasich (W) 15:09, 11. Bridgett Blair (Carm) 15:11, 12. Rachel Stark (CN) 15:12, 13. Kayla Alexander (THN) 15:12, 14. Rose Flomin (IC) 15:12, 15. Bethany Scruton (CN) 15:12, 16. Amanda Hardesty (V) 15:14, 17. Mary Ballinger (Ch) 15:14, 18. Andrea Kent (V) 15:16, 19. Kelsey Page (SC) 15:16, 20. Crystina Aburto-Martin (Wheeler) 15:17, 21. Anna Weber (Mich. City) 15:20, 22. Kelsey Pence (CN) 15:22, 22. Breanna Ehrman (W) 15:22, 23. Christina Blackwell (Po) 15:23, 25. Ashlee Karp (V) 15:23, 26. Laura Carr (Penn) 15:28, 27. Wendy Mahlan (Bm) 15:28, 28. Leslee Getts (Dk) 15:29, 29. Katie Sauter (Ind. Cathedral) 15:31, 30. Kelly Peller (Ch) 15:32

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account on this site, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.


Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.