[The Brazil Times nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 50°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Grigsby advances to IHSAA state wrestling finals

Tuesday, February 15, 2005

The Bloomington South Panthers continued a strong season by winning six classes at the Evansville Reitz Semistate on Saturday and the Northview Knights sent 130-pounder Corey Grigsby along to the state finals at Conseco Fieldhouse after he placed second.

The Panthers won at 112 with Chris Freeman, Tyler Goble at 140, Kurt Kinser at 145, Paul Young at 160 and Tony Withrow at 130 pounds.

Grigsby (35-6) and Withrow squared off in the finals in their fourth meeting of the season. Coming into Saturday's meeting, Grigsby held a 2-1 advantage in head-to-head matchups this year after winning at the sectional level, 5-2, and in the regional 12-4.

However, on Saturday, Withrow was able to gain the upper hand and get the fall against Grigsby at the 3:45 mark. Grigsby however did pick up a pair of victories leading up to the finals match and with his second place finish will head to Conseco Fieldhouse next weekend.

Northview's Tony Sanabria did earn a victory but was unable to advance in the 275 pound class. However, Terre Haute North's LaShawn Tyler won all three of his matches to earn the heavyweight semistate title.

At 145 pounds, Chris Dean fell in his opening match to Evansville Reitz' Ryan Lux who placed second to South's Kurt Kinser.

Grigsby will open the state finals with a match against Brett Mellis (32-8) of Crown Point who placed third at the Merrillville Semistate.

The first round of state finals action begins Friday night at 6 p.m. with the quarterfinals beginning on Saturday at 9:30 a.m. Admission is $8 per session or $18 for all sessions.

Wrestling Semistate

Evansville Reitz Semi-State (at Roberts Stadium)

Individual Qualifiers


1. Justin LaFlower, Indian Creek

2. Chris Head, Bloomington South

3. Matt Fields, Whiteland

4. Alex Weinzapfel, Evansville Mater Dei


1. Reece Freeman, Bloomington South

2. Drew Lappe, Evansville Mater Dei

3. Nathan Heath, Castle

4. Anthony Meister, Whiteland


1. Anthony Williams, Evansville Central

2. T.K. Vandagrifft, Martinsville

3. Wesley Patrick, Plainfield

4. Mitch Atkins, Forest Park


1. Alex Warren, Mooresville

2. Zach Myers, Avon

3. Dustin Bruce, Bloomington North

4. Cody Weiss, Heritage Hills


1. Tony Withrow, Bloomington South

2. Corey Grigsby, Northview

3. Dane Osborne, Boonville

4. Eric Fairbrother, Avon


1. Cooper Samuels, Floyd Central

2. Nick Dewig, Evansville Mater Dei

3. Jeremy Kempf, Evansville Reitz

4. Tom Glick, Columbus East


1. Tyler Goble, Bloomington South

2. Sean Brescher, Jasper

3. Wes Keif, Franklin

4. Jeffrey Tennery, Avon


1. Kurt Kinser, Bloomington South

2. Ryan Lux, Evansville Reitz

3. Daniel Rosbottom, Jeffersonville

4. Bart Schaefer, Evansville Mater Dei


1. Matt Coughlin, Evansville Mater Dei

2. Michael Miller, Madison

3. Chris Hensler, Avon

4. Mike Reese, Franklin


1. Paul Young, Bloomington South

2. Zach Voegerl, Jasper

3. Kerry Johnson, Avon

4. Dennis Nelson, Franklin


1. Phil Glasser, Franklin

2. Jared Steckler, Southridge

3. Brandon Pinkston, Princeton

4. Jeremy Goebel, Evansville Mater Dei


1. Orrin Kleinhenz, Columbus North

2. Josh Myers, Greencastle

3. Taylor Vieck, Vincennes Lincoln

4. David Sandlin, Floyd Central


1. Lynn Panko, Avon

2. Jonathan Seger, Jasper

3. Kyle Nehring, Columbus North

4. Caleb Vandeman, Whiteland


1. LaShawn Tyler, Terre Haute North

2. Cody Johnson, Franklin

3. Bruce Duncan, North Posey

4. Travis Cross, South Spencer

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: