[The Brazil Times nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 60°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Winter All-Conference teams named

Monday, March 14, 2005

Whitney McWilliams (left) led the Eels in scoring and was named to the All-TRC first team.

The Tri-River Conference and the Western Indiana Conference recently passed out their winter awards with Clay City and Northview taking home a fair share of the recognition.

The Knights took home the overall sports trophy and also won the girls top award.

Northview compiled 101 total points in winter sports standings with points being awarded for each boys and girls team's place in the conference standings. The Knights edged out Brown County who had 93 points with Sullivan taking third with 92. Edgewood, Owen Valley, West Vigo and South Vermillion rounded out the standings.

The girls teams scored 52 total points to win the all-sports trophy over Brown County's 42 and Sullivan's 40. Edgewood was fourth, tied with Owen Valley with West Vigo and South Vermillion.

In the boys standings, Edgewood took the top spot with 60 points followed by Owen Valley with 54, Sullivan had 52, Brown County, Northview, West Vigo and South Vermillion rounded out the standings.

The Knights placed seniors Shawn Hughes and Heath Chamberlain on the All-WIC team this year.

Chamberlain, in his first year of basketball since eighth grade, averaged a double-double and was invaluable with his inside presence for the Knights. Combined with Nick Wells on the interior, the learning curve, especially early in the season, was certainly eased by Chamberlain along with the steady play and leadership by Hughes.

For the Lady Knights, senior Laura McCrea and junior center Julie Whitted made the All-WIC squad.

Whitted, once more provided double-digit scoring and rebounding and was a consistent presence in the post on the defensive end of the court for the Knights. She was the team's leading scorer, rebounder and led the way in blocks as well.

McCrea's offensive game improved dramatically this year and gave the Knights a consistent threat around the basket. She developed a soft baseline jumper that was dangerous and was a mean rebounder as well.

The wrestling team placed four champions on the conference team as Austin Nicosin (112), Corey Grigsby (130), Gatlin Ferro and Tony Sanabria all won the WIC.

The TRC conference announced on Wednesday that Clay City junior Whitney McWilliams was a first-team winner along with Union's Stacey Secrest and Kelsie Manual. Eminence placed Jessica Malot and Jacci Martin on the squad along with Linton's Bri Ward.

Making the second-team for Clay City was senior Cameron Gerber and Bryleigh Schopmeyer was a third-team member.

Eminence won the TRC title with a 5-0 mark and Jason Sims of the Eels won the Coach-of-the-Year award.

In boys basketball, Josey Vansickle was a first-team member for Clay City along with Shakamak's Tyler Rehmel and North Central's Matt Woodard. Caleb Fischer of Linton also is on the first-team along with Union's Ryan Gambill.

Clay City sophomore Garrett Thatcher made the second-team for the Eels along with North Central's Jordan Spencer, Jared Rehmel of Shakamak, Justin Davidson and Daniel Page of Union and Tyler Adkisson of Eminence.

Brock Dyer of the Eels was a third-team member along with Linton's Riley Beach and Justin Suthard, Joey Munson of Shakamak and Casey Crone of Eminence.

The team co-champs this year were Clay City and Linton, both with 4-1 marks and the Eels' Grant McVay was named the Coach of the Year.

Western Indiana Conference

Winter Awards

Overall Sports Standings: Northview 101, Brown County 93, Sullivan 92, Edgewood 90, Owen Valley 84, West Vigo 66, South Vermillion 50

Boys Overall Standings: Edgewood 60, Owen Valley 54, Sulivan 52, Brown County 51, Northview 49, West Vigo 40, South Vermillion 30

Girls Overall Standings: Northview 52, Brown County 42, Sullivan 40, Edgewood and Owen Valley 30, West Vigo 26, South Vermillion 20

Boys Basketball (All-Conference)

Edgewood -- Garrett Butcher, Daniel Lindsey, Kyle McGlong

Owen Valley -- Jared Maners, Harry Marshall, Jake Zeunik

Northview -- Shawn Hughes, Heath Chamberlain

South Vermillion -- Todd Byram, Zach Williamson

Sullivan -- Derrick DeMoss, Justin Ridge

Brown County -- Jordan Hawley

West Vigo -- Sean Lowe

Girls Basketball (All-Conference)

Brown County -- Holly Fisher, Mara Freyshour, Kamady Rudd

Northview -- Laura McCrea, Julia Whitted

Sullivan -- Alana Bradford, Allyn McKinley

Edgewood -- Lynsie Burton, Jessica Porter

Owen Valley -- Sam Stahl

West Vigo -- Amanda Payne

South Vermillion -- Sarah Guinn

Wrestling (All-Conference)

Brown County -- John Robertson (103)

Northview -- Austin Nicosin (112), Corey Grigsby (130), Gatlin Ferro (171), Tony Sanabria (275)

Owen Valley -- Cody Snodgrass (119), Ryan Thomas (135), Casey Bybee (145)

South Vermillion -- Matt Gross (125), Dwight Riggen (140), Codey Sumerville (152), Chrysler Payne (160)

West Vigo -- Ryan Jewett (189)

Tri-River Conference

Girls Basketball

First Team

Whitney McWilliams (CC), Stacey Secrest (Un), Kelsie Manuel (Un), Jacci Martin (Em), Jessica Malott (Em), Bri Ward (Ln)

Second Team

Jenny Poe (Ln), Annika Dawwon (NC) Sarah Hoskins (Sh), Cameron Gerber (CC)

Honorable Mention

Kristen Cecil (Em), Bryleigh Schopmeyer (CC), Casey Simmons (Ln), Sierra Taft (NC)

Boys Basketball

First Team

Tyler Rehmel (Sh), Josey Vansickle (CC), Matt Woodard (NC), Caleb Fischer (Ln), Ryan Gambill (Un)

Second Team

Jordan Spencer (NC), Jared Rehmel (Sh), Garrett Thatcher (CC), Justin Davidson (Un), Tyler Adkisson (Em), Daniel Page (Un)

Honorable Mention

Brock Dyer (CC), Casey Crone (Em), Riley Beach (Ln), Justin Suthard (Ln), Joey Munson (Sh)

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: