[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 53°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 45°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Hillam pockets $1,000 for Spring Fling win

Monday, April 18, 2005

Chris Hillam (in red) poses with family and friends after he won the 30-lap Super Spring Fling on Saturday night at Lincoln Park Speedway. With the victory he took home a $1,000 payday.

PUTNAMVILLE -- The green flag dropped at Lincoln Park Speedway on Saturday night for the Super Spring Fling for super stocks.

Doug McCullough, the 2004 track champion, won his heat race and started from the pole in the feature event. He took the early lead at the green flag with Chris Hillam, Kenny Carmichael and Marty Cooper in hot pursuit.

Carmichael would chase down McCullough in lapped traffic with Cooper in tow when a yellow came out for a spin.

On the restart, Hillam nosed under Carmichael in a three-way battle that involved Cooper as well. All three would stage a heated battle for the top spot with Hillam pulling back out front with a pass in turn one with five laps remaining in the 30-lap feature. But the action wasn't over as JJ Starks got upside down in turn two with three laps to go that brought out a redflag.

On the restart, Cooper and Hillam went head to head with Carmichael in third. The whiteflag came out and coming through turns 3-4, Cooper spun as Hillam took the checkered flag and the $1,000 check. "I wasn't too worried about anything except maybe cutting a tire," commented Hillam of the late lap battle. "Marty (Cooper) was really fast tonight. I think this was one of the most fun races I've been in. Kenny's a great sprint car driver so its fun when out here."

McCullough would finish third followed by Cullen Goodman and Curt Leonard in the top-five.

McCullough, Jeff Wellum and Hillam were all heat winners with Kris Starks winning the semifeature.

In modified action, Carmichael started from the pole with Jimmy Hayden on the outside of the front row after winning their heat races.

As the green flag dropped, Carmichael took the point followed by Hayden and Jack Taylor. Meanwhile, JD Francis started back in 16th position and began his advance on the leaders.

An early yellow flag for a spin by Schuyler Nahre gave the field a breather as Francis had already advanced up to the ninth position.

On the restart, a nice race developed between Paul and Carlos Bumgardner along with Tom Russell for their spot in the top five. Taylor would take over the top spot as the cars found their way through lapped traffic. Carmichael and Hayden were in the top three followed by Francis and Paul Bumgardner.

A flurry of late race yellow flags broke up the continuity of the racing as the field dwindled to 12 cars.

Taylor was able to hold off a late challenge by Carmichael who added a second runnerup spot on Saturday night followed by Francis, Paul Bumgardner and Hayden.

In the bomber feature, 2004 track champion Lloyd Walls started from the pole and held the early lead with Doug Klyn and Mark Smith behind him.

Smith would grab the lead as Walls and Harry Shepard raced hard for second place. The pair would race side-by-side for a handful of late laps before Walls eventually nabbed the runnerup spot behind Smith who cut a tire in turn two, but was able to hold on for the last lap.

Shepard took third followed by Arvis Shepard and Jeff Shepard rounding out the top five.

Walls, Smith and Harr Shepard each won their heat races with Gary Long winning the semifeature.

Next week will kickoff the regular racing season at LPS featuring sprintcars, modifieds, super stocks and bombers on Saturday night.

Lincoln Park Speedway

Super Spring 30

Super Stock Feature

1. Chris Hillam, 2. Kenny Carmichael, 3. Doug McCullough, 4. Cullen Goodman, 5. Curt Leonard, 6. Jerry Donica, 7. Marty Cooper, 8. Dennis Morgan, 9. Kris Starks, 10. JJ Starks, 11. Jeff Wellum 12. Michael Burton, 13. Lloyd Bumgardner, 14. Justin Porter, 15. Paul Wright, 16. Ron Roe, 17. Michael Wright (DNS)

Heat winners: McCullough, Wellum, Hillam

Semi: Starks

Modified Feature

1. Jack Taylor, 2. Kenny Carmichael, 3. JD Francis, 4. Paul Bumgardner, 5. Jimmy Hayden, 6. Zach Fair, 7. Carlos Bumgardner, 8. Chris Brewer, 9. Schuyler Nahre, 10. Dan Lewellen, 11. Scott Ricketts, 12. Brad Robinson, 13. Kenny Brewer, 14. Matt McDonald, 15. James Tumey, 16. Chad Combs, 17. Tom Russell, 18. Jeff Wellum, 19. Joe Cox, 20. Chris Kerl

Heat winners: Carmichael, Hayden, Combs

Semifeature winner: Francis

Bomber Feature

1. Mark Smith, 2. Lloyd Walls, 3. Harry Shepard, 4. Arvis Shepard, 5. Jeff Shepard, 6. Mike Moody, 7. Ron Smith, 8. Doug Klyn, 9. Derrall Smallwood, 10. David Bumgardner, 11. John Thomas, 12. Roger Absher, 13. Marlin Burns, 14. Michael Wright, 16. Bruce Hendricks, 17. Orville Engler Jr., 18. Ray O'Neal, 19. Ron Wallen Jr., 20. Justin Cary

Heat winners: Walls, Smith, Shepard

Semifeature winner: Long

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: