[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 43°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

O'Dell earns sprint win at LPS; Carmichael repeats

Monday, August 8, 2005

(Top) Brazil's Ron Wallen Jr. races for position against David Bumgardner in Saturday's Bomber Feature. Wallen would finish fourth.

PUTNAMVILLE -- Derek O'Dell is celebrating a resurgent late Summer stretch in the sprint car ranks as he followed up his first victory last week at Jacksonville with a top finish on Saturday night at Lincoln Park Speedway in his Simmons Cooper LLC machine.

"Jack Yeley has given me just an amazing racecar," commented O'Dell following the win. "It seemed anywhere I wanted to go I could put my car there and it would go. I thought we'd dug ourselves a hole earlier starting 12th, but it worked out pretty well."

After finishing third in his heat race, O'Dell did have his work cut out for him starting behind a solid field including Kent Christian, A.J. Anderson, Kevin Besecker and Kenny Carmichael Sr. whose been dominant of late.

However, O'Dell was fast at the green flag, jumping to third early in the race as Anderson led Carmichael and Laser in the early going. Anderson would drive out to a commanding early advantage before a yellow for a spin by Danny Pollock brought him back to the rest of the field.

On the restart, O'Dell let Carmichael know he was a contender, riding around the cushion, side-by-side with the Terre Haute hotshoe. O'Dell would make the pass on the low groove, shifting to the inside to edge past Carmichael in turn three.

Kent Christian meanwhile had moved up from eighth and looked to be a threat as took over a top five spot getting past Jimmy Laser and Bobby Stines. Anderson continued to lead but was being chased doggedly by O'Dell who was making a serious challenge for the lead when Pollock spun again to end his evening. On the restart, O'Dell made the pass for the point with a move low off turn four to take the lead with Carmichael also nosing into contention.

O'Dell however would hold off the competition to take his first win at the Putnamville oval followed by Anderson, series points leader Carmichael, Christian and Stines rounding out the top five.

In the UMP Modified class, Ritchie Lex and J.D. Francis put on an exciting show for the fans, racing side-by-side for much of the latter half of the A-Main before Lex was able to hold on for the victory. Starting on the outside of row one, Lex took the early lead with a large pack in two that included James Tumey, Travis Shoulders, Jimmy Hayden and Clint DeMoss.

Francis would quickly make himself the closest pursuer and showed Lex his nose on the low side repeatedly. However, Lex would hold fast over the final five laps, getting a strong run off turn four to take the checkered flag in his PSI Motorsports/KH Graphics ride.

"I was just too tight to run the bottom," said Lex about battling Francis who held the low groove. "It's racing like that that makes it all worth it. I've known J.D. (Francis) forever, he's a great driver, has great equipment. . .racing like that is a lot of fun."

Carmichael Sr. picked up his second straight super stock feature win to maintain his commanding points lead in the class.

Carmichael would get out to a strong early lead and wouldn't look back, leaving the rest of the field to battle for the remainder of the top spots. David Bumgardner and Charles Van Ness dueled side-by-side for the runnerup spot for much of the feature with Bumgardner coming out on top. Both Paul Wright and Curt Leonard also put on a tight race for the fourth spot with Wright claiming the spot to round out the top five.

For Terre Haute's Harry Shepard, a bit of good luck finally went his way as he avoided the tire problems that have plagued him of late and a very fast Kenny Carmichael Jr., crashed out while leading the feature as Shepard claimed his sixth win of the year.

Shepard led in the early going with Carmichael hot on his bumper and eventually squeezing past with a strong move underneath coming off turn four near the midpoint of the race. Carmichael would pull out to a solid lead before collecting an infield tire marker between turns three and four that ended his night. Shepard would then hold off Lloyd Walls, Arvis Shepard and Brazil's Ron Wallen Jr. and Sr. for the victory.

Shepard maintains the series points lead ahead of Walls and David Bumgardner of Fillmore.

Lincoln Park Speedway

August 6

Sprint car Feature

1. Derek O'Dell, 2. A.J. Anderson, 3. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 4. Kent Christian, 5. Bobby Stines, 6. Jimmy Laser, 7. Jason Robbins, 8. Troy Link, 9. Hud Cone, 10. Kevin Besecker, 11. Rex Norris III, 12. Shane Hollingsworth, 13. Shawn Krockenberger, 14. Steve Rone, 15. Jason Holt, 16. Travis Thompson, 17. Tim Creech II, 18. Matt Lafoon, 19. Danny Pollock, 20. Chris Windom

B-Main winner: Tim Creech II

Heat winners: Kenny Carmichael Sr., Jimmy Laser, Shawn Krockenberger, A.J. Anderson

UMP Modified Feature

1. Richie Lex, 2. J.D. Francis, 3. Clint DeMoss, 4. James Tumey, 6. Travis Shoulders, 7. Jeff Wellum, 8. Schuyler Nahre, 9. Tom Russell, 10. Paul Bumgardner, 11. Jimmy Hayden, 12. Matt McDonald, 13. Kenny Brewer, 14. Al Flick, 15. Tom McKinney, 16. Kyle Woolard, 17. Chris Kerl, 18. Chris Brewer, 19. Rob Rickert, 20. Dan Lewellen

B-Main winner: Rob Brickert

Heat winners: Paul Bumgardner, Travis Shoulders, J.D. Francis

Super Stock Feature

1. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 2. David Bumgardner, 3. Charles Van Ness, 4. Paul Wright, 5. Curt Leonard, 6. Carlos Bumgardner, 7. Joe Jeffries, 8. Doug Arnold, 9. Ben Williams, 10. Aaron Zellers, 11. Dennis Morgan, 12. Mark Dickerson, 13. Scott Carrington, 14. Jeff Van Lannen, 15. Jeff King, 16. Bob Farris, 17. Slick Griffin, 18. Tony Erdly, 19. Kris Starks, 20. Donald Smiley

B-Main winner: Aaron Zellers

Heat winners: Charles Van Ness, Doug Arnold, Kenny Carmichael Sr.

Bomber Feature

1. Harry Shepard, 2. Lloyd Walls, 3. Arvis Shepard, 4. Ron Wallen Jr., 5. Ritchie Hawkins, 6. Ron Wallen Sr., 7. Travis Heramb, 8. David Wallen, 9. Marlin Burns, 10. David Bumgardner, 11. Ron Smith, 12. Gary Long Sr., 13. Travis Garrity, 14. Chris Wood, 15. Sean Yakel, 16. Phil O'Neal, 17. A.J. Brewer, 18. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 19. Kevin Helton, 20. Dustin Colvin, 21. James Cass, 22. Tim Meany

Heat winners: Ritchie Hawkins, Kenny Carmichael Jr

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: