[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 59°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Gaines takes Sheldon Kinser Memorial

Monday, August 15, 2005

Carey Fox photo

Jon Stanbrough placed third at the Sheldon Kinser Memorial at Bloomington Speedway on Friday night.

Sheldon Kinser would have been proud of the race run in his honor last night. The Sheldon Kinser Memorial is one of the premier races held each season. And, every sprint car racer wants his name on the list of Sheldon Kinser Memorial champions. Last night the stands were full of fans anxious to learn whose name would be added.

Friday night 37 sprint car teams unloaded to compete for the honor of being added to the list of Sheldon Kinser Memorial champions. Of course most of our regular competitors were on hand to maintain their positions in the points races as well as to take the $3000 first place money. However their were a number of heavy hitters who showed up to try to take the the money away from the local guys. Among them were defending Sheldon Kinser Memorial Champion Shane Cottle, Jon Stanbrough, Dave Darland, A.J. Anderson, Terry Pletch, etc.

Justin Marvel set quick time trailed by Jon Stanbrough, Shane Cottle, Ted Hines, Dave Darland and Shane Hollingsworth.

Rookie of the year candidate Broc Burton of Columbus was not put off by the level of competition last night; and things were looking good for him until his left front wheel broke. He got upside down; and his father, Gary, his grandfather, and the rest of his crew had their hands full getting the #0 repaired. However, he missed his heat race and had to start on the tail of the "B" feature. He worked his way up to a 13th place finish.

The heat races were won by Dave Darland, Brady Short, Matt Westfall, and Kevin Besecker, while Bryan Clauson won the "B" feature. Fan favorite Kevin Briscoe lined up 16th to start the heat race; and "B" feature; and he drove it to a strong third place finish and a transfer to the feature event. It was vintage Briscoe. But, Kevin would also have to come from deep in the field if he was going to win the feature.

When the green flagged waved to start the feature event, Dave Darland took the point from his outside front row starting position. However, on the fourth circuit, polesitter Shane Hollingsworth slipped past him to take the point; and Dick Gaines had moved up to seventh.

On the tenth lap, Gaines passed Darland to take second place; and, four laps later, he passed Hollingsworth to take the lead. On the 16th circuit, defending Sheldon Kinser Memorial champion Shane Cottle passed Hollingsworth to take second place. From that point on, the race became duel between Gaines and Cottle.

Cottle passed Gaines to take the lead on the 27th lap. Cottle was running on the bottom; and Gaines was up on the top shelf. Although Cottle officially led the race until the final lap, the lead actually changed several times a lap. As they came down to take the checkered flag, Gaines passed Cottle when Shane was trapped behind lapped cars. While Gaines was less than a foot ahead of Cottle, he still had his first Sheldon Kinser Memorial win.

When the feature started, everyone anticipated a patented charge to the front. However, on the 23rd lap, Briscoe was halfway through the field when he rolled to a stop in the infield. Mechanical woes ended Kevin chances for another Sheldon Kinser Memorial championship Bryan Clauson, Jon Stanbrough, and Dave Darland rounded out the top five.

Cramer Holds Off Boknecht For O'Neal Wood Products/Monroe County Pizza Dept Modified Win

O'Neal Wood Products/Monroe County Pizza Dept modified points leader Jesse Cramer won the dash to earn an inside front row starting position for the modified feature. Cramer looked strong from the start but former modified champion Shelby Miles started next to Cramer; and he wouldn't be an easy man to beat.

Matt Boknecht started 11th; and that left him a long way to go to catch Cramer who had a clear track ahead of him. However, Boknecht knows his way around the Bloomington Speedway red clay oval as anyone. On the 9th lap Boknecht took fifth place; and, on the next lap, he took fourth. On the 12th lap he passed Clint DeMoss to take third. On the 13th circuit he passed Miles to take second place. That left him only one car to pass to win yet another O'Neal Wood Products/Monroe County Pizza Dept. modified feature. However, Jesse Cramer was not going to be denied. Boknecht tried several lines in search of one that would take him past Cramer; but he never found one that would work.

Clint DeMoss held on to finish fourth trailed by Shelby Miles, Ray Humphrey, and Ralph Groomer.

Danny Harris Takes Fourth Tire & Wheel Center Super Stocks Feature Win

Last night a strong field of 30 Tire & Wheel Center super stock racers unloaded to compete for a big feature win. In addition to the evening's feature win, they were attempting to amass more points to improve their share of the healthy Bloomington Speedway points fund. Chris Hillman won his heat race from the outside of the front row; and he went on to win the dash. Danny Harris also won his heat; and he finished second in the dash. This put two of the best Tire & Wheel Center Super Stock racers side by side on the front row for the start of the feature event. At the start of the super stock feature it looked like Hillman was headed for another feature win; however, on the 17th lap, Harris slipped past him to take the point which he would hold until the checkered flags waved. Hillman kept trying; but he was unable to get back past Harris. Harris would take his second feature win in a row.

Next week, due to a Bloomington Speedway track rule, Harris will be permitted to start no better than tenth in the feature event.

Ben DuBois came home third trailed by Kent Robinson and Terry Arthur.

In preliminary action, Chris Hillman, Kent Robinson, and Danny Harris won the heat races while Hillman took the Dash. Joe Lucas prevailed in the "B" feature.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: