[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 64°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 49°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Northview football team celebrates award winners

Wednesday, November 9, 2005

Submitted photo

2005 Northview Football Team Award winners include: (Back row l-r) Broc Miller, Jared Timm, Ryan Brown, Dean Netzler and Jamie Bays. (Middle row l-r) Evan Moore, Devin Chamberlain, Chase Yocom and Nick Lancaster. (Front row l-r) Neil Vanatti and Joe Evinger.

The Northview postseason awards banquet was recently held with awards going to many standouts for the football team this year.

Senior Jamie Bays received a bevy of awards including the Team Most Valuable Player and the Captain's Award for a very special season for the running back.

Bays became Northview's all-time single season rushing record holder with a total of 1,296 yards on just 131 attempts which works out to 9.6 yard per carry. He scored 16 touchdowns on the season which helped him also earn the Offensive MVP award and a share of the Best Offensive Back award.

Tying Bays for that award was quarterback Broc Miller who threw for 1,946 yards and 19 touchdowns this season while also garnering 463 rushing yards and eight scores for the Knights. Miller also was the squad's Mental Attitude award winner this year.

Senior wide receiver, Devin Chamberlain won his position's top award while pulling in 28 catches for 695 yards and a team-high six scores for the Knights. His long grab of the year was for 74 yards.

Up front, Joe Evinger was the Offensive Lineman of the year for the Knights.

On the defensive side of the ball, Neil Vanatti was the team's Best Defensive Lineman and was the Defensive MVP for the Knights for his work in terrorizing opposing players in the backfield and Dean Netzler was the squad's Best Linebacker.

In the defensive secondary, sophomore Jared Timm was Northview's Best Defensive Back while hauling in two of the team's 12 interceptions this year.

The Most Improved Players of the year went to Chase Yocom as the varsity's most improved as he returned two kicks for touchdowns and pulled in 22 passes for 516 yards and four touchdowns this season. The Reserve team's most improved award went to Ryan Brown

The all-important scout team MVP awards went to Evan Moore for the Defensive Player of the Year and Nick Lancaster was the Offensive Player of the Year for the Knights.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: