[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 64°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 41°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Panthers crown two in finals

Monday, February 20, 2006

Mike Smith photo

Northview's Chris Dean (right) grapples with Jamal Lawrence of Merrillville at the IHSAA State Wrestling Finals on Friday night.

INDIANAPOLIS -- Bloomington South senior Paul Young was the only returning champion to successfully defend his state championship in Saturday's IHSAA Individual Wrestling State Finals.

Young won his second straight 160-pound championship title with a 9-4 decision over Columbia City senior Bryan Deutsch, finishing unbeaten in 49 matches.

"My being in shape won the match," Young said of controlling the final two minutes. "He (Deutch) was gassed in the third period. I was ready to go three more periods after the third period."

Five champions from 2005 returned to the state meet, but Young was the only one to reach the finals.

Eight other wrestlers concluded their seasons with unbeaten records: Mishawaka freshman Josh Harper, 47-0 at 103 pounds; Mooresville senior Alex Warren, 37-0 at 130 pounds; Bellmont senior Matt Irwin, 45-0 at 135; Hanover Central sophomore Andrew Howe, 51-0 at 140 pounds; Bloomington South senior Kurt Kinser, 47-0 at 152; Mishawaka junior Ian Hinton, 42-0 at 171; Vincennes Lincoln senior Taylor Vieck, 38-0 at 189; and Merrillville senior Dexter Larimore, 41-0 at 275. It was the first state title for Larimore, who was the 275-pound runnerup the last two seasons.

Kinser's sprint-car driving father, Steve, cheered his son from the bleachers, one day after being injured in a crash during Friday's IROC race at Daytona.

Kinser had a welt over his left eye, but otherwise appeared OK. Mishawaka produced three state champions, the most of any school -- Harper at 103, Hinton at 171 and Pat Day at 215.

In the semifinal round, Day broke a 74-year-old state finals record by pinning Jasper senior Jonathan Seger in 11 seconds. The old record of 15 seconds was established by Wilford Childers of Lowell in 1929 and repeated by Charles McDaniel of Bloomington in 1932. Merrillville and Bloomington South had two winners --

Javier Salas at 119 pounds and Larimore for Merrillville, and Young and Kinser for Bloomington South. Fort Wayne Snider senior Jeffrey Papiernik won the Ward E. Brown Mental Attitude Award.

Dean, Pingleton drop openers

The Wabash Valley didn't fare well in the IHSAA State Wrestling Finals on Friday evening.

Northview junior Chris Dean lost his Friday opening round matchup with Jamal Lawrence of Merrillville, 15-2. Dean finished the season with a 16-2 mark for the Knights.

Chris Pingleton of Greencastle lost a 5-3 decision to Mike Sands of Hanover Central. Pingleton ends the year at 45-2.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: