[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 58°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 57°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Stanbrough takes home second K.I.S.S. race

Monday, May 22, 2006

Carey Fox photo

Jon Stanbrough (#53) makes the winning pass in Saturday's King of Indiana Sprint Series at Lincoln Park Speedway. Stanbrough edged out Shane Cottle (pictured) for the second time.

With a tough victory at Lincoln Park Speedway on Saturday night, Jon Stanbrough took a huge step toward becoming the first two-time champion of the King of Indiana Sprint Series. It was Stanbrough's second consecutive victory in as many nights and in some ways resembled the KISS feature at Bloomington Speedway the night before. As he had at Bloomington, Shane Cottle led early, but again trailed the Fox Brothers DRC, wheeled by Stanbrough, at the finish. Scott Hatton, Chris Windom and Derek O'Dell completed the top-5.

"We weren't perfect tonight. It was pretty close and I just kept adjusting in the car. Every yellow I adjusted a little and tried to do a little bit on the green. But once I got past that last yellow, it was just a matter of not making any mistakes," Stanbrough explained as he stood in his hauler a after the r ace.

Cottle beat Hatton into the first turn and claimed the early lead, running the cushion through one and two as Hatton kept second, ahead of Stanbrough and Critter Malone. Following a ninth lap caution for Danny Williams Jr.'s spin, Stanbrough moved to the top to take second from Hatton. On the 13th circuit, Tony Elliott hit a turn four infield marker tire, breaking the left front suspension and spinning.

Stanbrough pressed Cottle's Crume-Evans Insurance Chalk-chassis on the restart, and looked high in turn four before diving to the inside of the first turn on lap 14. He was able to pull even in the second turn and race Cottle wheel-to-wheel into three, where he now owned the prime real estate. Cottle tried to stay with him on the outside, but Stanbrough moved decisively ahead in through turn four.

Malone and A.J. Anderson tangled on the 21st circuit to bring the last caution of the race. For the second fifteen laps, Cottle tried in vain to regain position on Stanbrough, but the door never opened and they finished the way they ran the final circuits, nose-to-tail.

"When he got past me I was running up on the high side in one and two and obviously it was the wrong place to be running," Cottle offered later. "But I was a sitting duck out there in the front, like last night. Just one of them deals. Maybe one day we'll start behind him and catch him."

The atmosphere was brighter several spaces away in the Fox team's pits. "We were really actually pretty loose to run anywhere on the racetrack. The top was so rough you couldn't run up there. So we just had to make the best of what we had. I tried to make as many adjustments in the car as I could and not make any mistakes when I got into the lead. The whole year's been good. Hopefully we'll just keep it going. Maybe we'll top that number that (Paul) Hazen and I had a few years back."




In UMP Modfied action, Ray Humphrey came from a fourth place starting position in the feature event for a decisive victory at LPS on Saturday night.

Defending track champion Paul Bumgardner started the main event on the point, but slipped back a bit as Humphrey edged past and set his sights on the checkered flag.

With plenty of clean air in front of him, Humphrey checked out on the field and left everyone else to fight for second place. Clint DeMoss moved up in the field lap-by-lap to take over the second spot but drew a late black flag when his rear bumper came dislodged, bringing out a yellow. His departure left John DeMoss and Bumgardner to scramble for position with Brandon Short, Phil VanSant and Richie Lex all over each other along with Travis Shoulders.

John DeMoss and Bumgardner put on a good show in their attempts to narrow the gap to Humphrey in the final laps, but their efforts weren't quite enough on this night.

Humphrey would prevail in the feature after running second to Bumgardner in their heat race. John DeMoss would hold onto the second spot despite a spirited challenge by Bumgardner, who ran third. Short placed fourth, VanSant took fifth followed by Lex, Shoulders, Jeff Wellum, Carlos Bumgardner and Shelby Miles to round out the top-10.

Doug McCullough has been knocking on the door of his first feature win of the season; Saturday was finally his night to take the checkered flag.

McCullough won his first heat race of the year and then held off a hard charging Kenny Carmichael Sr. and Cullen Goodman over the final laps.

Though he drew out to a comfortablel lead over the first half of the race, McCullough reached lapped traffic over the final five green flag laps of the feature. While he tried to thread his way through that gauntlet, Carmichael, Goodman and Kris Stars all zeroes in on his bumper and ate up the gap to virtually nothing. However, the group would run out of laps as McCullough got to the checkered cleanly with Carmichael in tow followed by Starks, David Bumgardner and Mike Wright Jr. in the top-five. Curt Leonard took six followed by Paul Wright, Michael Williams Sr., Tony Erdly and Harold Grayless.

In the bomber feature, Kenny Carmichael Jr. looked to have the feature wrapped up late in the race, opening up a solid lead over Ritchie Hawkins.

Carmichael however made contact with a tire barrier late in the race coming off turn four, Hawkins was in prime position to scoop up the point and held off Carmichael over the final couple of laps for the victory. Ron Smith took the third spot with David Wallen coming up to take fourth followed by Travis Heramb, Dale Lewis, Ron Wallen Jr., David Bumgardner II, Sean Yakel and Ron Wallen Sr. in the top-10.

Lincoln Park Speedway is back in action again on Saturday with sprints, modifieds, super stocks and bombers. Also featured will be a rollover contest.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: