[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 56°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 45°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Solwold wins first NST feature at Hagerstown

Monday, June 12, 2006

Jason Solwold waits to be pushed off before feature action at Hagerstown Speedway. (Fran Engelcke photo)

Jason Solwold (City Wide) captured his first National Sprint Tour win Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway. It was a contested win that came after a slow start for the evening with a 15th fastest qualifying time. Solwold showed his determination at the start of the 30 lap feature by moving from his fourth place starting position to leading by the start of the 2nd lap. Mark Coldren (Keeler Company) flipped in the back bringing out a red flag resulting in a complete restart putting Solwold back into his starting position.

Solwold knows it takes patience. "It's good to finally win one. I have the nervous itch out of my system from being on the road. I know how it is when you come out here for the first time. You just have to keep working at it and eventually it will come."

Local Pennsylvania Posse hot shoe Jeff Shepard (York Excavating) took the lead from the inside pole of the restart but Solwold was there again moving from 4th to 2nd in the first turn. By turns 3and 4 he was outside of Shepard but unable to complete the pass. Solwold commented saying, "From the start I thought we had a really good car. I took a little while to get by Shepard but I knew I could get around him it was just going to be where I could do it."

By lap five with just a little more momentum he floated by Shepard on the outside of turns 3 and 4 leaving him behind. "We made the wrong decision. We changed our set-up and a couple of things to make the car go better. We didn't quite make the right decision and we went from first to fifth. "We learned a lot," said Shepard. "We're in one piece and we can capitalize on that. When the NST comes back here in August, we'll be a lot better."

Outside pole sitter Stevie Smith (RAACE) was a mere fast spectator to the charge of Solwold and Lasoski. He summed up his race by saying, "We started strong. We put a little bit harder tire on for the feature race and it wouldn't take off on the starts. We just fell in position and stayed there."

By lap 9 Danny Lasoski (Roth) had moved up to challenge Shepard in turns 3 and 4 using his favored low groove to complete the pass into second place. Lasoski's hard charge paid off as he slid in front of Solwold low in 3 and 4 of lap13. Solwold would have none of that and put a slide job back on Lasoski at the end of the front stretch. Solwold knew Lasoski was there. "Once I saw Lasoski there I figured we were going to have a race," said Solwold.

While Lasoski would keep up the pressure he was unable to get by. Solwold led to the checkers. Lasoski stated, "Jason did a good job. We can't take anything away from his first win. We ran second and we'll just go on to the next race. My hat is off to his whole crew. They've been right there all year long. They've had a bunch of seconds and they deserve the win."

Lance Dewease (HAAM) moved up to the third spot during the race. The outside pole sitter, Smith held on to fourth followed by Shepard in fifth place.

The B feature, with the top six transferring to the A was won by Shane Stewart (Rudeen)

wearing a borrowed Solwold wing after crashing. He was followed by Josh Wells, Todd Hestor, Lucas Wolfe (Selma Shell), and Judd Shepard.

Dash one was dominated by the Shepard with a strong second by Brian Paulus (Arnold)

followed by Lasoski, Tim Shaffer (Casey's), Jason Meyers (Elite Landscaping) and Paul McMahan (Bass Pro Shops).

Dash two had Smith showing the way home with Solwold, Steve Kinser (Quaker State),

Dewease, Todd Schaffer, and Brian Leppo following.

Heat one was won by Greg Hodnett taking the checkers followed by Kinser, Paulus, Schaffer, and Lasoski.

Heat two saw Shaffer take the win followed by Dewease, Scott Lutz, Meyers and McMahan.

Heat three had Solwold showing his slow qualifying time didn't matter as he took the checkers followed by Smith, Coldren, Leppo, and Shepard.

Fast time was 17.854 set by NST driver Lasoski.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: