[The Brazil Times nameplate] A Few Clouds ~ 64°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Farris wins Forest Park Men's Club title

Tuesday, August 1, 2006

Staff Reports

The Forest Park Men's Club Championship had a familiar winner this year as Troy Farris won his seventh title in the event by posting a second round 64 to pull away from Steve Penman with a two-day score of 130. The 12-under par score gave Farris a five stroke victory over Penman who held off Tyler Akers' 137. Akers had Saturday's best round by posting a 64. Eric Trusler placed fourth in the Championship Flight with a 139.

Northview junior Mary Beth Tribble continued a strong summer by taking the Girls Division ahead of teammate Madison Kirchner. Tribble shot a two-day score of 155 with Kirchner six strokes back in second place. Millie Akers was third with a 162 followed by Olivia Oehler.

Steve Paquin won the Seniors Division with a 139 to finish one stroke better than Alan Buell in the Championship Flight.

Other winners at Forest Park included Ben Kiburis in the Super Senior Division. Kiburis shot a 134 to beat Bill Lovett's 142. Fred Modesitt was the winner in the Boys 15-18 Division. Modesitt shot a 142 to best Jordan Gaskill's 145. Daniel Eaglin won the Boys 13-14 Division with a 150.

Official results will be posted in the Forest Park pro shop along with the website.

Upcoming tourneys are a pair of men's tournaments that will be open to all players. The Brazil Open will be held September 2-3 and a two-man best ball tourney is slated for Sept. 30-Oct. 1. Those interested may contact the pro shop at 812-442-5681.

Forest Park Club Championship

Open Division

Championship Flight

1. Troy Farris66-64 -- 130
2. Steve Penman65-70 -- 135
3. Tyler Akers64-73 -- 137
4. Eric Trusler139

First Flight

Michael Moore144
Scott Buell146
Tony Fenwick146
Nick Bonomo148
Bob Compton150
Logan Whitman152
Caleb Edington154

Second Flight

Bob Simon146
Mike Cuiksa148
John Brush149
Dave Kirchner150
Dan Moreland151

Seniors Divisino

Championship Flight

Steve Paquin139
Alan Buell140
Harvey Roscoe144
Jim Lawrence145
Wayne Loughmiller146

First Flight

Ron Simpson150
Denny Lents152
Pete Breloff153
Rick Ford154
Bob Moreland154
Jerry Lents156

Super Seniors Division

Championship Flight

Ben Kiburis134
Bill Lovett142
Harry Secrest143
Joe Daugherty144
Bob Braun145
Nate Phelps147

First Flight

Rex Cope143
Tom Heckel148
Jerry Peebles150
Bob England150

Second Flight

Bill Kidwell159
Charles Clayton160
Charles Hapenny162
John Tribble163
Sonny Smith166



Mary Beth Tribble155
Madison Kirchner161
Millie Akers162
Olivia Oehler194

Boys 15-18

Fred Modesitt142
Jordan Gaskill145
Josh Conway152
Matt Williams155

Boys 13-14

Daniel Eaglin150
Ryan Turner168
Carson Craft170
Josh Hoskins181
Dylan Moore199

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: