[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 61°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Carmichaels roll to three wins at LPS

Monday, August 14, 2006



PUTNAMVILLE -- Saturday night at Lincoln Park Speedway was dominated by the Carmichael family with Kenny Carmichael Sr. powering to wins in both the sprint car feature and super stock feature and his son taking the bomber feature.

Paul Bumgardner found his way back to victory lane in UMP Modified action and continued his season points domination.

But the real story of the night was the strength of the Carmichael's, especially senior who ran his string of street stock victories to five straight and got the J & W Transport, Carmichael's Exhaust sprinter back to victory lane.

In the sprint feature, Billy Puterbaugh looked early like his bad luck from the previous week might end as he ran out to a comfortable lead in the first handful of laps.

But Carmichael bore down and shaved the lead lap after lap until a bobble by Puterbaugh allowed him to gain the point. Running the low line, Carmichael didn't look back, handling lapped traffic over the final few laps and a caution restart with a couple of laps remaining to pick up the victory and an extension of his points lead over Shawn Krockenberger.

Jon Siscoe overcame Puterbaugh at the end to take the runnerup position ahead of Bobby Stines and Gary Hayden in the top-five.

Carmichael now has 740 points to lead the season standings with Krockenberger holding second with 721 points following a sixth place finish on Saturday.

With his fifth straight win in the super stock division, Carmichael edges out just a bit more over Doug McCullough in the season race. Though Carmichael has taken home the lions share of the victories of late, McCullough has finished strong each week to stay close. On Saturday, a fourth place finish left the points gap at just 13 with Carmichael holding 914 and McCullough at 901 and Curt Leonard a distant third with 789.

Leonard rolled to a third place finish on Saturday night, just behind Dan McCullough. Bobby Price rounded out the top-five this week.

In the bomber feature, Kenny Carmichael Jr. led much of the race comfortably as Lloyd Walls gave chase into the latter stages of the main event. With a handful of laps left before the checkered, Walls drove hard underneath Carmichael into turn three to set up a dash for the prize. The pair ran side-by-side over the final couple of laps.

With the white flag out, the two drove hard into turn four, Walls underneath of Carmichael, coming out of the corner. Carmichael would just nose out the win in a drag race to the finish line, winning by just a couple of feet at the line.

Last week's winner and points leader, Ritchie Hawkins, drove from the back of the field, making his way up to finish in third place ahead of Brazil's Ron Wallen Jr. and Ron Wallen Sr. David Daniels was sixth ahead of Ron Smith, Marlin Burns, Andy Sherley and Dale Lewis.

In the UMP Modified feature, Greencastle's Paul Bumgardner won a feature long battle against Daryl Herbert in a caution plagued main event.

Herbert led several early laps before Bumgardner sorted out into the first place position and was able to win a tight position fight that also included Travis Shoulders and Clint DeMoss. Brad Robinson was also in the mix for much of the race before slipping back in the field late.

DeMoss and Shoulders put on a show for the crowd, running side-by-side in a fourth place battle late in the feature. Shoulders would win that battle, eventually moving up to finish third with Chris Brewer in fifth ahead of Mitchell Lankford, Bradley Sterrett, Jimmy Hayden, Phil VanSant and Dan Lewellen.

Steve White was the winner in a modified lite regional event. The Deleware driver finished ahead of Doug Carrigan, Hal Orndorff, Steve Baldwin and Mike Hay in the top-five.

Next week will be sprints, modifieds, super stocks and bombers with admission at $10 for adults.

Lincoln Park Speedway

Sprint Car Feature

1. Kenny Carmichael SR., 2. Jon Siscoe, 3. Billy Putterbaugh, 4. Bobby Stines, 5. Gary Hayden, 6. Shawn Krockenberger, 7. Aaron Mosley, 8. Kenny Haynes, 9. Kenny Carmichael JR., 10. Craig Budde, 11. Jeremy Vanesky, 12. Danny Williams Jr., 13. Bryan Stanfill, 14. Kenny Biro, 15. Kevin Studley, 16. Jack Farmer, 17. A.J. Martin, 18. Tommy Rockwell, 19. Danny Pollock

Heat winners: Puterbaugh, Carmichael Jr.

UMP Modifieds Feature

1. Paul Bumgardner, 2. Daryl Herbert, 3. Travis Shoulders, 4. Clint DeMoss, 5. Chris Brewer, 6. Mitchell Lankford, 7. Bradley Sterrett, 8. Jimmy Hayden, 9. Phil VanSant, 10. Dan Lewellen, 11. Josh Boller, 12. Jeff Wellum, 13. Chris Kerl, 14. Gary Hall, 15. Mark Auler, 16. Brad Robinson, 17. Rob Brickert, 18. Jared Hix, 19. Robert Albright, 20. Jaymie Turner, 21. Tim Meany, 22. Brian Blac, 23. Tom Black, 24. Steve Carpenter

Dash winner: Herbert

Heat winners: Shoulders, Robinson, Herbert

Super Stock Feature

1. Kenny Carmichael SR., 2. Dan McCullough, 3. Curt Leonard, 4. Doug McCullough, 5. Bobby Price, 6. Paul Wright, 7. Michael Williams Sr., 8. Harold Grayless, 9. Ben Williams, 10. Mark Dickerson, 11. David Bumgardner, 12. Chuck Walde, 13. Josh Fagg, 14. Justin Benge, 15. Tony Erdly, 16. Matt Harmon, 17. Jimmy Saunders, 18. Doug Arnold, 19. Shawn Miller, 20. Karl Roethemeier, 21. Don Duncan

B-winner: Paul Wright

Heat winners: Dan McCullough, Curt Leonard, Michael Williams

Bomber Feature

1. Kenny Carmichael JR., 2. Lloyd Walls, 3. Ritchie Hawkins, 4. Ron Wallen JR., 5. Ron Wallen SR., 6. David Daniels, 7. Ron Smith, 8. Marlin Burns, 9. Andy Sherley, 10. Dale Lewis, 11. Dustin Colvin, 12. David Wallen, 13. Stan Sandusky, 14. Larry Shelley JR., 15. Sean Yakel, 16. Justin Cary, 17. Joe Murphy, 18. Dan Morgan, 19. Gary Long, 20. Jacob Wright, 21. Travis Heramb, 22. Chris Wood

Heat Winners: Hawkins, Carmichael Jr.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: