[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 64°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 50°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

Hayden picks up first LPS win of the year

Monday, August 21, 2006

Jimmy Hayden was victorious.



PUTNAMVILLE -- If your going to end up in victory lane at Lincoln Park Speedway, it never hurts to have your car owner in attendance.

Casey Shuman rolled to an impressive win in sprint car action on Saturday night, his second at LPS this year as his owner looked on.

Shuman came from the fifth starting position and masterfully worked his way to the front, eventually getting by Daniel Adler on the top shelf before powering away from the competition.

Jon Siscoe was the man to beat in the early going, holding the upperhand over Adler in a side-by-side show. But Bobby Stines and Shuman were hot on their heels, waging their own position fight. Stines would eventually make his move up to second over Adler and set his sights on Siscoe. With a four-way drag race down the straight-aways, Shuman made his move over Stines and Adler to take the point. That left Adler, Siscoe and Stines to settle who was going to be left as the runnerup.

Shuman kept increasing his advantage over the field until a caution with five laps remaining reset the field for a dash to the checkered flag.

On the green, Shuman again set the pace and would go on to the win with Siscoe settling for second ahead of Stines, Adler and Kenny Carmichael Sr. in fifth place.

Carmichael retains his season points advantage over Shawn Krockenberger, who placed seventh on Saturday night. Carmichael has 798 points to lead Krockenberger's 775.

The night's best main event was the UMP Modified feature as Jimmy Hayden squeezed out a victory over a hard charging pack that included Paul Bumgardner, Ray Humphrey and Travis Shoulders.

Hayden started on the pole and stayed there but had his hands full for the entire race as each of three different competitors took their best crack at stealing the winner's share. Hayden however was up to the task to earn his first win at Lincoln Park this season.

Late in the race, Hayden had both Shoulders and Bumgardner sandwiching him in a three-wide, eye opener that had the fans sitting on the edge.

Bumgardner chose the low line and lap after lap would nose under Hayden in turn four, ready to pounce on any mistake. But Hayden, planted on the top, would get all the bite he needed to outdrag Bumgardner back to the line and into turn one. Humphrey would move up to take his own shot at Hayden, but chose to go even higher to make his move.

Humphrey would actually make his pass stick on the extreme high side, but a caution flag would negate the lead change and reset the field late.

On the restart, Hayden would keep his lead ahead of Bumgardner and would hold off the challenges of Bumgardner who remained second ahead of Humphrey, Larry Raines moved up to fourth ahead of Shoulders in fifth place.

Bumgardner added to his already sizable points lead as Phil VanSant dropped out early with mechanical woes. Bumgardner has 1,024 to VanSant's 820 followed by Hayden's 807.

In the super stock A-main, Kenny Carmichael Sr. just keeps rolling.

Saturday evening, he won his fifth consecutive feature in the class and just keeps adding to his points lead at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Paul Wright gave Carmichael a good battle throughout the first five laps before Carmichael began to pull away from the field. A handful of scattered caution flags kept the field in contention, but in the end, Carmichael was the winner, despite losing his power steering over the final laps.

Mike Wright would take the runnerup spot over Don Duncan and Doug Arnold in fourth. Michael Williams Sr. rounded out the top five.

In the bomber class, Lloyd Walls was the clear frontrunner, taking the victory over David Wallen, Marlin Burns, Keno Brewer and Ron Wallen Jr.

Walls started on the outside of the front row and checked out on the field early before a couple of yellows would draw Wallen and the competition closer down the stretch.

Points leader Ritchie Hawkins had a tough evening, losing a tire in his heat race, forcing him into the 'B' race and then suffering mechanical problems and missing the feature.

Walls closes Hawkins' points advantage to just 46 (975 to 929) with Kenny Carmichael Jr. in third with 916.

Next Saturday will be a regular lineup of sprints, modifieds, bombers and street stocks and will be 'Salute to Brazil Night.' Anyone with a form of ID that includes a Brazil address will receive a discounted admission price.

Lincoln Park Speedway

Sprint Car Feature

1. Casey Shuman, 2. Jon Siscoe, 3. Bobby Stines, 4. Daniel Adler, 5. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 6. Marc Arnold, 7. Shawn Krockenberger, 8. Aaron Mosley, 9. Kenny Haynes, 10. Kent Christian, 11. Cole Whitt, 12. Kenny Carmichael JR., 13. Craig Budde, 14. Kevin Studley, 15. Patrick Haynes, 16. Danny Williams Jr., 17. J.T. Imperial, 18. Jimmy Light, 19. Brady Short, 20. Billy Putterbaugh

B-Main winner: Krockenberger

Heat winners: Whitt, Puterbaugh, Siscoe

UMP Modified Feature

1. Jimmy Hayden, 2. Paul Bumgardner, 3. Ray Humphrey, 4. Larry Raines, 5. Travis Shoulders, 6. Josh Boller, 7. Don Shoulders, 8. Harry Shepherd, 9. Wes McClara, 10. Brad Robinson, 11. Mitchell Lankford, 12. Jeff Wellum, 13. Gary Hall, 14. Mark Auler, 15. Chris Brewer, 16. Dan Lewellen, 17. Phil VanSant, 18. Chris Kerl, 19. Bradley Sterrett, 20. Rob Brickert

B-Main winner: Brickert

Heat winners: Hayden, Shoulders, Hall

Super Stock Feature

1. Kenny Carmichael SR., 2. Mike Wright JR., 3. Don Duncan, 4. Doug Arnold, 5. Michael Williams Sr., 6. Curt Leonard, 7. Dan McCullough, 8. Harold Grayless, 9. Karl Roethemeier, 10. Ben Williams, 11. Josh Fag, 12. Doug McCullough. 13. Jeff Van Lannen, 14. Barry Gerkin, 15. Kris Starks, 16. Jimmy Saunders, 17. Mark Dickerson, 18. Tim Meany, 19. Paul Wright, 20. Tony Erdly

B-Main winner: Williams

Heat winners: Roethemeier, Carmichael Sr., Paul Wright

Bomber Feature

Bombers 06 - A-MAIN

Pos Driver Car #

1. Lloyd Walls, 2. David Wallen, 3. Marlin Burns, 4. Keno Brewer, 5. Ron Wallen JR., 6. Ron Smith, 7. Kenny Carmichael JR., 8. Dustin Colvin, 9. Stan Sandusky, 10. Stacey Shepherd, 11. B.J. Brewer, 12. Ritchie Hawkins, 13. Travis Heramb, 14. Dave Burdwell, 15. Gary Long, 16. Sean Yakel, 17. Dale Lewis, 18. Jacob Wright, 19. David Daniels, 20. Ron Wallen SR.

B-Main winner: Burdwell

Heat winners: Carmichael Jr., Wright, Walls

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: