[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 44°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Farris repeats as Brazil Open champion

Wednesday, September 6, 2006

Diane Dierks photo

Division winners in last week's Brazil Open included (from left to right) Sonny Smith, Troy Farris, Mike Nakai and Josh Hoskins.

Staff Reports

Troy Farris took home his second straight Brazil Open championship on Sunday evening, posting a second round 64 for a two-day total of 129 to edge out 73 other competitors for the victory.

Farris bested former Northview High School competitor, Tyler Akers, by seven shots for the title with Darrell Shouse and Bob Treash Jr. each finishing at 138 in the championship flight.

Farris, an amateur competitor, was the overall champion while Mike Nakai was the low professional golfer at 138. Nakai repeated as the low professional in the Brazil Open held at Forest Park Golf Course.

Zac Treash was the winner of the Junior 15-18 division with a two day total of 147 with Josh Hoskins the winner of the Junior 13-14 division with rounds of 87 and 92 for a 179.

Treash was able to edge out Jordan Gaskill's total of 154 with Josh Conway recording a 157 and Philip Meyer coming in at 158 for the tournament.

The Super Senior champion was Sonny Smith who shot rounds of 82 and 75 and Mike Toney won the Senior Division with rounds of 68 and 71 for a 139.

Toney bested Steve Paquin for the victory on Sunday. Paquin shot a total of 144 to fall five back of Toney's score. Dick Holmes was the runnerup to Smith in the Super Senior division. Holmes recorded a total of 160.

Skill shot awards went to Danny Bays with the closest to the pin on hole #2 and Dean Williams on hole #5 and to Logan Whitman on #11. Closest second shot went to Farris on #6 and to Nakai on #14. Tracy Frazier had the longest drive on hole #18.

Saturday skins went to Bobby Treash on hole #1, Darrell Shouse on #11 and Nakai on #13. Sunday's skin went to Shouse with an eagle on #18.

Brazil Open

At Forest Park Golf Course

Open Division

Championship Flight

Troy Farris129
Darrell Shouse138
Bob Treash Jr.138

First Flight

Doug McDonald138
Travis Turpen142
Brad Parker144
Zac Clark144

Second Flight

John Brush147
Zach Fink147
Bill Clouse151
Rodney Compton152

Third Flight

David Kirchner155
Andy Edwards158
Devon Whittington160

Fourth Flight

Logan Whitman163
Kyle Duell167
Philip Sobebee173

Pro Division

Mike Nakai138
Rich Shelsky139
Scott Lawson145

Junior Division (15-18 years old)

Zac Treash147
Jordan Gaskill154
Josh Conway157
Philip Meyer158

Junior (13-14 years old)

Josh Hoskins179

Senior Division

Championship Flight

Mike Toney139
Steve Paquin144

First Flight

Alan Buell148
Bill Carter152

Second Flight

Dick Gasway169
David Bays177
Dave Monts183

Super Senior Division

Sonnie Smith157
Dick Holmes160

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: