[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 52°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 41°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Richie Lex wins Patriot 100 and $2,000 payday

Monday, September 11, 2006



PUTNAMVILLE -- Richie Lex made his second race in the driver's seat of the #45 Trimble Construction sponsored UMP Modified one to remember on Saturday night, besting a field of more than 40 cars to win the 3rd annual Patriot 100 at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Lex was able to hold off Jeff Bland Jr. over the last 20 laps after Daryl Herbert suffered mechanical problems after leading three quarters of the 100 lap main event.

Paul Bumgardner had the lead over Herbert during the first half of the race and the two drove away to nearly a half lap advantage over the field. As the pair got into lapped traffic, Bumgardner and Ray Humphrey made contact that flattened Humphrey's tire one lap before the halfway break. Bumgardner would have to go to the back of the field after the spin.

After a 10 minute break to work on their cars and refuel, Herbert continued to lead the next 25 laps as passing became increasingly difficult.

Herbert held the advantage over Lex, Bland, Matt Bex and Travis Shoulders as the laps dwindled. With less than 25 laps remaining in the race, Herbert would suddenly slow coming off turn two, his previously dominating evening over. Bex would drop out during the caution period as well, leaving Lex as the sudden leader.

He would not disappoint, taking the point and holding off repeated challenges from Bland. John DeMoss would move up to finish third followed by Shoulders and Everett Bradham. Bumgardner would work his way back through the field to finish sixth overall followed by Jared Baily, Josh Eads, Jeff Wellum and Donald Kiger.

Denny Schwartz, currently second in UMP national points, would make the show after winning a B-feature, but would make contact with Jimmy Hayden a couple of laps into the A-main to end up with a 20th place finish.

In the superstock feature, 2004 Bloomington Rookie of the Year Anthony Walker was a winner in the Groomer Asphalt Paving machine.

Kenny Carmichael Sr. would continue a strong season by taking second in the feature followed by Doug Arnold, A.J. Smith and Michael Conner.

In the bomber feature, Michael Williams Sr. would take his first Lincoln Park Speedway feature this year followed by David Wallen and Kenny Carmichael Jr. Ron Wallen Jr. and Lloyd Walls rounded out the top five.

Next week will feature sprints, modifieds, super stocks and bombers along with a post-race bonfire and fan appreciation party. Admission is $10.

Tuesday, September 26 will feature the National Sprint Tour race with Steve Kinser, Danny Lasoski and many more at LPS.

UMP Modified Feature

Patriot 100

1. Richie Lex, 2. Jeff Bland, 3. John DeMoss, 4. Travis Shoulder, 5. Everett Bradham, 6. Paul Bumgardner, 7. Jared Bailey, 8. Josh Eads, 9. Jeff Wellum, 10. Donald Kiger, 11. Gabe Menser, 12. Gary Hall, 13. Matt Bex, 14. Daryl Herbert, 15. Ray Humphrey, 16. Schuyler Nahre, 17. Mark Auler, 18. Charles Van Ness, 19. Jimmy Hayden, 20. Denny Schwartz

B-Main winner: John DeMoss, Denny Schwartz

Heat winners: Paul Bumgardner, Josh Eads, Schuyler Nahre, Daryl Herbert

Super Stock Feature

1. Anthony Walker, 2. Kenny Carmichael SR. 3. Doug Arnold, 4. A.J. Smith, 5. Michael Conner, 6. Paul Wright, 7. Curt Leonard, 8. Michael Williams Sr., 9. Tony Erdly, 10. Mike Wright JR., 11. Kris Starks, 12. Chad Nolte, 13. Dave Branstetter, 14. Mark Dickerson, 15. Frank Haas, 16. Harold Grayless, 17. David Bumgardner, 18. Chuck Walden, 19. Karl Roethemeier, 20. Josh Fagg, 21. Lloyd Bumgardner, 22. Doug McCullough, 23. Dennis Morgan

B-Main winner: Curt Leonard

Heat winners: Karl Roethemeier, Anthony Walker, Doug McCullough

Bomber Feature

1. Michael Williams Sr., 2. David Wallen, 3. Kenny Carmichael JR., 4. Ron Wallen JR., 5. Lloyd Walls, 6. Gary Long , 7. Marlin Burns, 8. Ritchie Hawkins , 9. Stan Sandusky, 10. Michael Thompson, 11. Jacob Wright, 12. Mike Bruce, 13. Tracy Coomer, 14. Larry Shelley JR., 15. Kevin Helton, 16. Justin Cary, 17. Ron Wallen SR. 18. Ron Smith, 19. Travis Heramb, 20. Sean Yakel

B-main winner: Jacob Wright

Heat winners: Marlin Burns, Michael Williams Sr., Ritchie Hawkins

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: