[The Brazil Times nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 71°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 46°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

President Bush declares county disaster area

Monday, September 8, 2003

WASHINGTON -- Clay County is among 21 Indiana counties eligible for federal assistance after President George W. Bush declared Indiana a major disaster area.

The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland security's Federal Emergency Management Agency made the announcement Friday.

The declaration was made following "overwhelming floods and other extreme weather that started late last month" according to a FEMA press release.

Michael D. Brown, FEMA Director and Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response at Homeland Security, said the President authorized the aid immediately after receiving FEMA's analysis of the state's request for federal relief.

"President Bush acted quickly because he recognizes that people need immediate help," brown said. "The Department of Homeland Security and FEMA will do all we can to ensure that everyone receives the assistance they need as fast and efficiently as possible."

In addition to Clay, the declaration designates Blackford, Boone, Delaware, Grant, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, henry, Jay Johnson, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Owen, Putnam, Randolph and Shelby counties in the disaster area.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: