[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 64°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Tuesday is election day

Monday, May 3, 2004

Tuesday is election day in Clay County (and throughout the United States). Following the candidates forum at the fairgrounds Thursday night, a few people expressed a desire to better understand what they are being asked to decide Tuesday.

As a result, we have put together this information, to help shed light before you go to the polls.

- Contrary to other races, school board candidates will be elected Tuesday. They will take office July 1. You do not have to vote in the party primary to vote for school board. Ask for a school board-only ballot when you sign in to vote Tuesday.

You may only vote for school board candidates in your district.

- Candidates other than for school board are seeking their party's nomination. Nominees will be on the November general election ballot. While Republican and Democrat parties may not fill the ballot in the primary election, the parties may appoint candidates to be placed on the ballot for the November election.

- If you wonder where your voting place is located, call the Clay County Election Office, 448-9023. Give them your home address and they can tell you where to vote.

- "What is the difference between County Commissioners and County Council?"

You can think of the County Commissioners as you would the Governor or the President of the United States. You can think of the County Council as you would the Senate or House of Representatives. In other words, the County Commissioners serve as administrators while the County Council serves as legislators and the board that appropriates money for county government.

Likewise, the School Board appropriates funds while the School Superintendent is an administrator.

Note: These characterizations are intended as generalizations only.

- Three County Council Members-at-Large will be elected in November (even though only one candidate is listed on the Republican primary ballot).

The following candidates are slated to be on Tuesday's ballot (according to our latest information):

Clay Community Schools Board:

District 1: Len Fischer, Jon Hull; District 2: Jim Guy, Dan Robbins; District 3: Dottie King, Chris Styleburg; District 4: Steven Grigsby

Republican primary ballot:

President of the United States: George W. Bush

United States Senator: (no candidate)

Governor: Mitch Daniels, Eric Miller

U.S. Representative District 8: John Hostettler

State Senate District 37: Richard D. Bray

State Representative District 44: Kenneth J. Eitel Jr., Andy Thomas

State Representative District 46: Jeffrey Lee

Circuit Court Judge, 13th Judicial District: Ernest E. Yelton

Circuit Court Clerk: Mary C. Brown

County Recorder: Angela J. Modesitt

County Coroner: Richard A. Swearingen Jr.

County Surveyor: John R. Keller, Gary D. Rickert

County Commissioner, District 1: Brian Deakins, Bill Morthland, Tabatha Perkins

County Commissioner, District 2: Terry Harrison, Harold "Buddy" Knox, Jeff Stewart

County Council Member-at-Large: Warren Stevenson

Democrat primary ballot:

President of the United States: Wesley K. Clark, Howard Dean, John F. Kerry, Lyndon LaRouche, John Edwards

United States Senator: Evan Bayh

Governor: Joe Kernan

United States Representative District 8: Jon P. Jennings, Bill Pearman

State Senate District 37: Kristin Szczerbik

State Representative District 43: Clyde Kersey

State Representative District 44: Eric A. Wolfe

State Representative District 46: Vern Tincher

Circuit Court Judge, 13th Judicial District: (no candidate)

Clerk of the Circuit Court: (no candidate)

County Recorder: Bill Purcell

County Coroner: Jerry Calandrilla

County Surveyor: Aron Royer, Brian Wyndham

County Commissioner, District 1: Dave Parr

County Commissioner, District 2: Charlie Brown

County Council Member-at-Large (elect 3): Guy J. Dickerson, Mark L. Dierdorf, Michael D. McCullough

Delegates to the Republican and Democrat state conventions will also be elected on Tuesday.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: