[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 74°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 46°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Clay, 19 other counties recognized by Bush

Thursday, September 2, 2004

- Declaration comes after heavy July storms

Clay is one of 20 counties eligible for federal aid after a declaration by President George W. Bush. The declaration does not guarantee Clay or any other county money but clears the way for county and state offices to apply for federal aid.

The declaration includes 20 counties that were hit by thunderstorms, tornadoes and flooding from July 3-18, the White House said in a news release.

Severe storms in southern and western Indiana that began over the Independence Day weekend cut power to more than 100,000 homes and businesses. A Bartholomew County man died July 13 when his tractor flipped over while he was clearing a fallen tree from a road near his home.

Bartholomew County was not included, but Federal Emergency Management Agency officials said more counties might be added.

The counties included were: Clark, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Harrison, Martin, Orange, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Putnam, Scott, Spencer, Sullivan, Vermillion and Warren.

The declaration makes funding available to state and local government agencies and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis, the news release said.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: