[The Brazil Times nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 62°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 41°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Waterman named ranking member of Natural Resources Committee

Tuesday, November 30, 2004

Sen. President Pro Tempore Robert D. Garton has announced the appointment of State Sen. John Waterman (R-Shelburn) as Ranking Member of the Senate Natural Resources Committee. Waterman will also sit on three other committees for the 2005 legislative session.

The Ranking Member assumes responsibility for the committee if the chairman cannot fulfill his/her duties.

"Sen. Waterman is an advocate of protecting Indiana's natural resources," said Garton. "His years of experience representing southwestern Indiana have shown that he is dedicated to this cause."

Waterman will also serve as a member of the Agriculture and Small Business Committee, as well as the Energy and Environmental Affairs Committee. This committee was formed from the former Environmental Affairs Committee and will deal with legislation pertaining to environmental issues as well as the very important energy issues facing Indiana, including the use of biofuels.

Additionally, Waterman will serve on Corrections, Criminal and Civic Matters, where he will serve on the Corrections and Criminal Subcommittee.

Senate committees allow legislators to review prepared legislation and hear testimony on issues before bringing them to the Senate floor for consideration. The President Pro Tempore assigns bills to committees based on subject matter.

Waterman represents Senate District 39, which includes Clay County, as well as portions of Sullivan, Knox, Daviess, Greene, Owen, and Vigo counties.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: