[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 52°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 43°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Parties caucus to fill spots - Democrats

Thursday, July 6, 2006

Clay County's Democratic Party kept busy in the weeks leading up to the Monday filing deadline for the fall 2006 elections.

In two separate caucases, the party named five new candidates for township office as well as an entrant for one county-wide office.

The party named Vicki Lawhorn as its candidate for Clay County Treasurer. Other nominees included John Dale Loughmiller (Dick Johnson Township Board); Kenny Michaels (Jackson Township Trustee); Nancy Latham (Cass Township Trustee); Suzie Hayes (Washington Township Trustee); and Linda Schiele (Washington Township Board).

Ann Bradshaw, who oversaw the last-minute nominations while Party Chairman Joe Broyles was out of town, said she is pleased with her party's chances in the fall.

"I think we've got a good slate of candidates" she said. "You've got a (candidate for) commissioner (Graham T. House), a candidate for (circuit) judge (Joe Trout), and the county offices, which are vital. It's going to be interesting."

Check tomorrow's Brazil Times for a finalized listing of the candidates for the fall 2006 general elections.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: