[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 65°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 49°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Delta Theta Tau conducts convention

Wednesday, August 8, 2007

The 99th National Convention of Delta Theta Tau Sorority was held in Irving, Texas July 11-15, 2007. National President Bonnie DeMeyer of New Carlisle, Ind. presided.

"Delt's Round Up in Texas" was the theme of the convention with Kathy Moore of Greensburg, Ind. as the convention coordinator. Represented were delegates from 94 chapters. Attending from Brazil's Alpha Omega Chapter were: seated - Bev Hooker, President Gayla Thiemann, Kaylee McCollum; standing - Diane Braden, Janice Modesitt, Michelle Beil, Melissa McCullough, Linda Sheese.

Delta Theta Tau is a philanthropic sorority that was founded in 1903 in Muncie, Ind. by five high school girls. $737,519.92 was donated to philanthropic projects during the past year by all of the active chapters across the United States. Among those philanthropic interests is the National Foundation for Ectodermal Dysplasias.

Delta Theta Tau's Educational Grant Program enables students to continue their studies in the graduate field of Guidance and Counseling. Delegates in Irving allotted $15,000 for the educational grants and $5,000 for the National Foundation of Ectodermal Dysplasias.

Brazil's Alpha Omega chapter supports philanthropic projects throughout Clay County. These include assistance to the Clay County Humane Society, the Food Pantry, and the LEAPP Center. They also provide scholarships in math education and have donated to various local projects including Brazil City Park and Recreation Board, Relay For Life, Race for the Cure, Family Film Festival, Northview Bible Club, YMCA, United Way, Clay Youth League, Camp Riley, Hoosier Girls' State, and Hoosier Boys' State. Their major fundraisers include cheeseballs, geraniums/ hanging baskets and Taste Treat Luncheon.

Awards were given to the chapters with the highest total amount of money spent on philanthropy, and also for the chapter with the most volunteer hours. Receiving the award for highest amount of money spent for philanthropy was Tau chapter of Valparaiso, Ind.; the chapter recognized for the most volunteer hours was Xi chapter of Portland, Ind.

Delegates elected a new National President and she is Mary Jane Litz of Lambda Sigma chapter in Phoenix, Ariz. Members also voted on a 2009 convention site, which will be in Costa Mesa, Calif.

Many social activities were enjoyed by members throughout the convention. They included the "Deep in the Heart of Texas" Mixer, the "Texas Hold-Em" Informal, and the "Yellow Rose of Texas" Banquet.

The 2008 National Convention will be held in Fort Myers Beach, Fla., at the Sanibel Harbour Resort & Spa on July 9 -13. Jan Swerlein of Fort Myers Beach, Fla. will be the coordinator.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: