[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 59°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 53°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Area youth perform well at state fair

Sunday, August 12, 2007

INDIANAPOLIS -- Fourteen Clay County youngsters recently received merit awards at the 2007 Indiana State Fair for exhibits.

One Clay County youth also received two merit awards at the state fair.

According to Clay County 4-H Youth Extension Coordinator Melanie Brown, a merit award is the highest honor someone may receive at the state fair level. Competitors may also receive a blue ribbon (first place), red ribbon (second place), white ribbon (third place) or a green ribbon (participation).

Whitney Halfhill earned merit ribbons for projects in forestry and photography.

In addition, other merit ribbon recipients from Clay County included Sara Allard (shooting sports education), Saiti Booe (health), Sarah Bunch (crafts), Jacob Dispennett (weather), Kelsie Fischer (dog posters), Lucille France (sewing), Asie Jeffers (veterinary science), Caitlyn LeLoup (photography), Mannah Mace (personality), Sarah McDonald (genealogy), Dane Miller (geology), Molly Powell (soil and water conservation) and Dustin Stevenson (soil and water conservation).

Clay County youngsters earned a total of 72 blue ribbons, which were won by Beth Allard, Sadie Allen, Rebecca Beyers, Courtney Brown, Hannah Brown, Darci Chambers, Nicholas Christy, Katlyn Cowden, Joey Dierdorf, Starrla Eaglin, Allie Haddon, Whitney Halfhill, Samantha Hall, Lindsey Hayden, John Hyatt, Whitney Jeffers, Chelsea Joyner, Dustin Kellum, Symone Kellum, Courtney Maccarone, Joshua Miller, Elise Miller, Tyler Moon, Whitney Moore, Brandi Moore, Haley Morris, Logan Moss, Grace Neiswinger, Dawson Nelson, Jesse Pennington, Molly Powell, Benjamin Powell, Monique Richard, Tori Rohrabaugh, Chelsea Sampson, Adam Schroer, Rebecca Seymour, Paige Silvers, Kayla Sinders, Jessica Smart, Michael Smart, Daniel Stevens, Dakota Stevenson, Dustin Ste-enson, Shaya Stevenson, Ashton Stevenson, Hannah VanHorn, Shawna Vencel, Ha-leigh Villain, Lauren Webster and Tho-mas Webster.

In addition, Clay County youth tallied 29 red ribbons, which were won by Caroline Beyers, Saiti Booe, Joey Dierdorf, Makenzy Gilbert, Mitchell Jackson, Asie Jeffers, Nicholas Joyner, Deaven McCrocklin, Stephen McDonald, Sarah McDonald, Colton Miller, Elise Miller, Dana Miller, Claire Pierce, Hannah Pond, Molly Powell, Wesley Powell, Carrie Riddell, Krista Sinders, Ethan Ste-venson and Chel-sea Withrow.

Brittany Cramer, Wesley Powell, Chase Schriver and Paige Stevenson all re-ceived white ribbons for ex-hibits and Allison Stevenson received a green ribbon for participation.

Results involving livestock will be announced at a later date.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: