[The Brazil Times nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 63°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 49°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Gaines claims Putnamville Clash payday

Monday, August 13, 2007

PUTNAMVILLE -- Twenty times Lincoln Park Speedway has played host to the Putnamville Clash for sprint cars and on Saturday night, Dickie Gaines scored the $2,000 victory, his second LPS feature win of the year.

Gaines started up front after winning his heat race in the Pottorf Logging sponsored machine and once the green flag dropped in the A-Main, he never looked back. He quickly built a solid lead over Jeff Bland Jr. who celebrated his 19th birthday, but had his hands full with Casey Shuman and A.J. Martin over the early stages of the feature.

Lapped traffic was the only real obstacle that Gaines had to overcome through much of the event as he left the rest of the field to battle for the runnerup spot. Bland sank his teeth into that position and would never relinquish it after starting on the pole following his own heat race victory.

As Gaines dealt with the field's back markers, picking his way methodically through traffic, Shuman closed the gap on Bland for second spot. Kent Christian had moved up to scrap with Martin for a top spot but the two tangled, with Christian spinning. Martin would keep his spot with Christian being sent to the back.

Several laps after the restart, Andrew Prather would bring out the red flag when he got upside down off turn two, collecting Shawn Krockenberger in the process. Both drivers' nights' were over though there were no injuries.

With nine laps remaining on the restart, Gaines again pulled away from the competition to take the winner's share ahead of Bland and Shuman. LPS points leader, Billy Puterbaugh, rebounded following a heat race accident, to take fourth ahead of Aaron Mosely, Martin, Kenny Carmichael Jr. and Kenny Carmichael Sr.. Robbie Rice placed ninth and Christian raced back to 10th place overall.

For the Carmichael's, the solid sprint car placing was just a sign of things to come.

Carmichael Sr., the two-time defending champion in the sprint car division, claimed his first UMP Modified feature win at LPS, leading green to checkered to help reverse a frustrating summer.

Travis Shoulders made him earn every lap of that feature victory, closing to Carmichael's bumper in lapped traffic over the final five laps and nearly edging the Terre Haute native at the line as each navigated around back markers.

Carmichael was able to hold off Shoulders in Gary and Debbie Hall's modified, sponsored by Bud's Auto Salvage, VP Racing, David's Engine Service and Carmichael's Exhaust.

Shoulders, who won two weeks ago in the last fully run feature, moved past Paul Bumgardner in the early laps and was able to slowly reel Carmichael in during the last laps as traffic provided some blockage for both drivers. But it was a grouping of several cars coming off turns three and four on the final laps that nearly changed the outcome of the race. With Carmichael leading by a couple car lengths, Shoulders arrived on his bumper behind a group of three cars racing for position off the final corner. He made a final move on Carmichael, but was unable to gain enough momentum for the pass.

Carmichael grabbed his first checkered flag in a modified at LPS with Shoulders, points leader, Paul Bumgardner was third ahead of John Gurley and Chris Brewer in the top-five. Jim Moore kicked off the next five followed by Tim Meany, Phil VanSant, Jay Turner and Gary Hall.

A thin crowd of 19 super stocks unloaded in Putnamville on Saturday, but each of them had their designs on taking the feature victory. But no one was able to catch up to season points leader, Kenny Carmichael Jr.

Starting on the outside of Joe Whisler on the front row, Carmichael took the point from the green and was able to maintain that advantage throughout the feature. Whisler had his hands full with Kris Starks over the early laps as the two put on a tight, side-by-side fight for position.

Whisler would eventually win that race for position and Starks settled into a third place spot. The top three would remain that way with Doug McCullough sorting out a new car for a fourth place finish ahead of David Bumgardner. Mike Wright Jr. started the next five followed by Curt Leonard, Jacob Wright, Mark Dickerson and Carlos Bumgardner Sr.

Carmichael's win in the L&R Roofing, Bud's Auto Salvage and Carmichael's Exhaust machine helped him edge out to an 11 point lead over McCullough with Whisler back in third place.

In the bomber feature, Lloyd Walls had no shortage of challengers in the feature event.

However, he was up to the task of taking the victory despite spirited exchanges with Ron Wallen Jr. over the middle stages of the feature and Ron Wallen Sr. down the stretch. Wallen Jr. had late mechanical woes that dropped him out of the event despite his early challenges for the top spot.

Walls would go on to take his fourth feature win of the year ahead of Brazil's Wallen Sr., Kevin Kemp took the third spot ahead of Tony Tidwell Jr. and Rockville's Stan Sandusky. Ron Smith was sixth ahead of David Wallen, Robert Hogan, Jeff Shepherd and Gary Long.

Sprint Care Feature

1. Dickie Gaines, 2. Jeff Bland, 3. Casey Shuman, 4. Billy Puterbaugh, 5. Aaron Mosley, 6. A.J. Martin, 7. Kenny Carmichael JR. 8. Kenny Carmichael SR., 9. Robbie Rice, 10. Kent Christian, 11. Geoff Dodge, 12. Derek Campbell, 13. Derek Williams, 14. Mike Murgoitio, 15. Lance Grimes, 16. Andrew Prather, 17. Shawn Krockenberger, 18. Tim Creech II, 19. Troy Link, 20. Stephanie Tuttle

UMP Modified Feature

1. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 2. Travis Shoulders, 3. Paul Bumgardner, 4. John Gurley, 5. Chris Brewer, 6. Jim Moore, 7. Tim Meany, 8. Phil VanSant, 9. Jay Turner, 10. Gary Hall, 11. Doug Arnold, 12. Lee Bemis, 13. Doug Bryant Jr., 14. Jared Hix, 15. Cullen Goodman, 16. Scott Ricketts, 17. Brad Robinson, 18. Rick Fulford, 19. Sean Heerdink, 20. Dan Lewellen

Super Stock Feature

1. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 2. Joe Whisler, 3. Kris Starks, 4. Doug McCullough, 5. David Bumgardner, 6. Mike Wright Jr., 7. Curt Leonard, 8. Jacob Wright, 9. Mark Dickerson, 10. Carlos Bumgardner, 11. Joe Starks, 12. Josh Allison, 13. Paul Wright, 14. Jefff Starks, 15. Dale McCullough Jr., 16. Scott Carrington, 17. Karl Roethemeier, 18. Bryan Fagg, 19. Robert Haberle

Bomber Feature

1. Lloyd Walls, 2. Ron Wallen Sr., 3. Kevin Kemp, 4. Tony Tidwell Jr., 5. Stan Sandusky, 6. Ron Smith, 7. David Wallen, 8. Robert Hogan, 9. Jeff Shepherd, 10. Gary Long, 11. Travis Heramb, 12. Steven Dayhuff, 13. Mike Duncan, 14. Larry Shelley Jr., 15. Ron Wallen Jr., 16. Chad Nolte, 17. Ben Williams, 18. Larry Rowley III, 19. Doug Dunagan, 20. David Daniels

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: