[The Brazil Times nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 62°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Indiana Soybean Alliance Seeks Farmers for Upcoming Director elections

Tuesday, October 2, 2007

Bill Miller may be making sweet potato pie soon. The Brazil resident recently acquired a large unusual sweet potato from Everett Arnett, Center Point. "I just let it grow to see how big it was going to get," Miller said.
Hoosier soybean farmers interested in serving on the board of directors of the Indiana Soybean Alliance (ISA) - the state's soybean organization - need to file a completed petition by Monday, October 15, 2007.

ISA works on behalf of nearly 28,000 soybean farmers in Indiana who contribute to the soybean checkoff. The ISA Board of Directors directs the investment of those checkoff funds. Under its strategic plan, the ISA has identified six major initiatives: Aquaculture, Biofuels, Livestock, Research, Grain Marketing, and Soy New Uses/Commercialization.

There are four voting districts in the state and two directors will be elected from each district to serve a three-year term on the ISA board.

District I counties include: Benton, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Elkhart, Fulton, Howard, Jasper, Kosciusko, La Porte, Lake, Marshall, Miami, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke, Tipton, Wabash and White.

District II counties include: Adams, Allen, Blackford, Dekalb, Dela-ware, Grant, Henry, Huntington, Jay, La Grange, Madison, Noble, Randolph, Steuben, Wayne, Wells and Whitley.

District III counties include: Clay, Daviess, Dubois, Fountain, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Montgomery, Owen, Parke, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Spencer, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, Warren and Warrick.

District IV counties include: Bartholomew, Boone, Brown, Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Decatur, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Hamilton, Hancock, Harrison, Hendricks, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Lawrence, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Ohio, Orange, Perry, Ripley, Rush, Scott, Shelby, Switzerland, Union and Washington.

Once elected to the Board, a director may also choose to represent the dues-paying members of the Alliance. Directors who choose to represent ISA's members will develop and promote public policies that benefit the interests of Indiana's soybean farmers - both in Indianapolis and Washington, D.C.

Since federal law prohibits the ISA from using soybean checkoff funds to support policy activities, financial support for membership and policy activities comes from member dues and other contributions.

An elected director's service on behalf of dues-paying ISA members is strictly voluntary and a candidate for the Board is not required to be a dues-paying member of the Alliance.

Candidates for the ISA Board are required to have been engaged in the growing of soybeans in Indiana between September 2005 and September 2007. Candidates must certify that they own the soybeans or share the ownership and risk of loss of the soybeans.

To petition to be a candidate, Hoosier farmers must sign a Director Expectation Statement and Petition form and provide information on an Indiana Soybean Leader Profile form. Both are available on the ISA website - www.indianasoy-bean.com - or by calling the soybean office at 1-800-735-0195. Forms are also available at county Cooperative Extension Service offices.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: