[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 53°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 47°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Several other county races up for grabs

Friday, October 12, 2007

The races to win elected positions in this year's General Election are intriguing.

By far the biggest race is for the position of mayor of Brazil between Republican James D. Sheese and Democrat A. Ann Bradshaw.

Bradshaw may have the advantage in this race as she is the current Mayor of Brazil with the departure of former Mayor Tom Arthur in June. Also, if voter turnout from the May Primary Election holds true this November, Bradshaw has another advantage as 889 of the 1,263 votes cast (70.4 percent) were for the Democratic Party.

The Common Council of the City Of Brazil will go through mass changes as at least three of the five council seats will be filled with new individuals in comparison with the start of 2007. Republican Patricia (Pat) Heffner (At-Large) and Democrat William G. Lovett (Ward 4) are the lone incumbents running for re-election for their respective seats and Democrat Steven A. Lamb, who took over the Ward 3 seat when Bradshaw became mayor, is running unopposed.

The race for Brazil Clerk-Treasurer has been a much talked about one in recent months as Republican Janet I. Wallace faces off against Democrat Karen L. McQueen. Wallace has worked in the Clerk-Treasurer's Office for a number of years and was recently placed on suspension by current Clerk-Treasurer Tracy Webster, who is not running for re-election.

No changes can be foreseen in the elections for the Town of Carbon as only the incumbents are running for the Clerk-Treasurer and the three Town Council positions.

In Center Point, Roger R. Campbell is running unopposed for the Clerk-Treasurer position and the three incumbents on the Town Council are running for re-election, but two may lose their positions as Republicans George Elbert Dickens, Jr. and Cynthia L. (Cindy) Gray are also running for the Town Council At-Large.

Clay City's Town Council is preparing for change as current Council President Tammy (Fulk) Wilson is the lone incumbent running for re-election to the council against five other candidates to fill three positions and current Clerk-Treasurer Denetta Lynn Hane is running unopposed for the same position.

The Town of Harmony is also in for some changes as Independent Donna Jan Mullinix is running unopposed to take over the position of Clerk-Treasurer and two council seats are up for grabs with non-incumbents.

In Ward 2, Independent Leslee Ann McDonald is unopposed to take over that spot, and in Ward 3 incumbent Don H. McCollister is running to maintain his position against Patricia L. Escott.

Both incumbents for Ward 1 and 4 are running unopposed for re-election.

Charlotte Reyher will retain her position as the Knightsville Clerk-Treasurer and the current layout of the Town Council will remain the same as Debra S. Cress and Charles M. Kester are running as the incumbents and Council Member David Michael Brown, who was appointed to the position earlier in the year, is the lone other individual on the council ballot.

Staunton will retain Catherine L. Mienheartt, who is unopposed, as its Clerk-Treasurer and in the Town Council race, incumbent William A. (Andy) Kirchner will also retain his spot and new candidates Bradley W. Webster and Edward A. Nevins are the only other individuals running to round out the three-member council.

This year's General Election will be Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: