[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 61°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

County seats the focus of 2008 election

Tuesday, January 1, 2008

It may only be the start of January, but it's never too early to take a look at the November elections.

Without a doubt, the presidential election is by far the biggest race of the year, but there are many county positions which will be up for grabs.

Two of the positions with the Clay County Commissioners are available with the terms of District 1 and 2 Commissioners Jack Withers and Charlie Brown, respectively, ending on Dec. 31, 2008.

Also a part of the General Election, which will take place Nov. 4, will be races for Clay County Circuit and Superior Court Clerk, currently held by Mary Brown, Recorder, Surveyor and Coroner positions which are currently held by Angela Modesitt, John Keller and Richard Swearingen, Jr., respectively.

The terms of all three At-Large positions on the Clay County Council also conclude at the end of 2008. These positions are currently occupied by 2007 Council President Michael McCullough, Vice-President Warren Stevenson and Mark Dierdorf. Positions of president and vice-president of the council will change during their Jan. 7 meeting.

While not a part of the General Election, positions for school board trustee, districts 1-4, have their terms end on June 30, and will be voted on during the May Primary Election. Currently holding these seats are Leonard Fischer, James Guy, Dottie King and Steven Grigsby.

Clay County Treasurer is another position of note in 2008. This position is not on the ballots in any election, but a change has occurred.

Debbie James, who was officially voted to the position in the 2006 General Election, took her office Jan. 1. Due to legislation which changed to allow the positions of County Auditor and Treasurer to take office at the same time, James was forced to wait to take her elected position, and will serve only three years of the typically four-year term. The amended legislation ended a long-standing law which staggered the two positions so newly-elected candidates would not take their positions simultaneously.

For questions regarding these positions or to sign up to run for office, contact the Clay County Election Office at 448-9023.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: