[The Brazil Times nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 86°F  
High: 84°F ~ Low: 66°F
Thursday, July 28, 2016

Political races off to good start

Monday, January 28, 2008

The time has come for politically-minded individuals to throw their hat in the ring.

Beginning Jan. 23, those interested in running for political office were able to file their candidacy.

The filing period runs until noon, Feb. 22, and those who would like their hat back once putting it in the ring have until noon, Feb. 25 to withdraw their candidacy.

Seven filed the first day they were able to including Charles S. Brown, Jackie R. Withers, Sr., and Michael D. McCullough, who filed for re-election to their respective Clay County Commissioners (District 2 and 1) and County Council at-Large seats.

Angela J. Modesitt and former Clay County Auditor Joseph Mark Dierdorf filed their bids for the County Recorder position seat the first day as well.

Other county positions open in this year's election are Clerk of the Circuit Court, County Coroner, County Surveyor and a total of three Council at-Large seats.

Also, seats for Districts 1-4 with the Clay Community Schools, Board of School Trustees are also up for grabs, and will only appear on the May 6 Primary Election Ballot, as the current terms end in June. To this point, the lone filing for any of these positions has come from Leo L. Southworth, for District 2.

Those interested in running for a commissioners position must apply for the district they live in, but will appear on all ballots in both the primary and general elections. However, potential candidates for the Council at-Large positions can reside anywhere within Clay County.

The Board of School Trustees differs slightly from other county positions.

A candidate running for District 3 Trustee may also come from Jackson Township in Parke County as they are part of the Clay Community School Corporation boundaries. On the other hand, residents in the Lewis Township area of Clay County are a part of the Metropolitan School District of Shakamak.

Also, it is never too early to apply for an absentee ballot.

Although the Clay County Election Office will not start mailing out ballots until late March, residents who will be unavailable to vote on Election Day are encouraged to apply to vote as an absentee. Those choosing to cast an absentee ballot will be able to do so up to, and including, the day prior to the election.

To file for candidacy, or to apply for an absentee ballot, contact the Clay County Election Office at 812-448-9023.

To file for candidacy for the open Clay County Commissioners and Clay Community Schools, Board of School Trustees seats, a resident must reside in the following voting districts for the respective positions:

* Clay County Commissioners

District 1: Brazil 1-6, Dick Johnson, Posey 1-3 and Van Buren 1-3

District 2: Cass, Jackson 1-3, Sugar Ridge and Washington

* Clay Community Schools, Board of School Trustees

District 1: Brazil 4, Cass, Jackson 1-3, Sugar Ridge and Washington

District 2: Brazil 1, 2, 3 and 6

District 3: Brazil 5, Dick Johnson, Van Buren and Jackson (Parke County)

District 4: Harrison 1-2, Perry and Posey 1-3

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: