[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 54°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 53°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Indiana names committee to search for new basketball coach

Monday, March 17, 2008

BLOOMINGTON -- Former Indiana University trustee Harry Gonso will head a 10-member committee to search for a new men's basketball coach.

The job became vacant last month when Kelvin Sampson resigned amid allegations of NCAA violations. Dan Dakich, an assistant under Sampson and a former IU player and assistant under Bob Knight, took over as interim coach for the rest of the season.

The Hoosiers lost their final two regular-season games and their only game in the Big Ten tournament quarterfinals last week. They will open play in the NCAA tourney on Friday against Arkansas.

"Harry Gonso is the ideal person to lead a search of this importance," IU President Michael A. McRobbie said in a statement Monday. "Harry has a deep appreciation for both our academic mission and our athletic traditions. He is well aware of the high expectations our fans and alumni have for our men's basketball program."

Gonso, a former IU quarterback and attorney, served on the university's board of trustees for 18 years. He was Gov. Mitch Daniels' senior counsel and chief of staff in 2005 and 2006.

"I am grateful to President McRobbie for placing this trust with me," Gonso said. "I am confident we will carry out this task quickly and successfully."

No timetable for the selection was announced, and Gonso said the committee members would not comment publicly on progress until a decision is made.

Other committee members include athletic director Rick Greenspan and former IU basketball player Wayne Radford.

"The advice and counsel of this committee will be critical as we seek to make the best choice possible for Indiana University and our fans," Greenspan said.

The other committee members are Ken Beckley, former president of the IU Alumni Association; Grace Calhoun, associate athletic director for compliance and academic services and senior woman administrator; Bruce Jaffee, professor of business economics and public policy and faculty representative on the Athletics Committee; Jennifer Sinclair, president and chairwoman of the IU Varsity Club National Board of Directors; Bill Stephan, IU vice president for engagement; James Wimbush, dean of the University Graduate School, professor of business administration and chair of the University Athletics Committee; and Jerry Yeagley, former IU men's soccer coach and member of the U.S. Soccer Federation Hall of Fame.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: