[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 53°F  
High: 61°F ~ Low: 48°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Casey takes home $10,000 Indiana Icebreaker payday

Monday, March 31, 2008

Wisconsin native Terry Casey (No. 42) battles the competition during the A-Main on Saturday night.

Times Sports Editor

BROWNSTOWN, Ind. -- The weather finally subsided, at least for one day, and the horsepower was unleashed for the fans attending the 11th Annual Indiana Icebreaker for late models at Brownstown Speedway.

Despite cool temps, the weather remained dry throughout and race fans descended upon the fairgrounds to see the Lucas Oil Late Models take to the track on Saturday evening. A large crowd was treated to UMP Modifieds and bombers as well.

New London, Wis., native Terry Casey had claimed a couple of different $4,000 paydays in his career before running down the competition at the 32nd Annual Winternationals on Feb. 7 at East Bay Speedway in Florida. That victory gave him $10,000 and on Saturday, he added another jumbo cardboard check to his season collection.

Dennis Erb Jr. (No. 28)?duels with Donnie Moran (No. 99) during heat race action at Brownstown Speedway Saturday evening.
Coming from his 16th starting spot New London, Wis. racer Terry Casey grabbed the lead from Bart Hartman on the 24th lap and then went on to win the 11th Annual "Indiana Icebreaker" featuring the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on Saturday Night at the Brownstown Speedway. The 38-year-old driver now resides atop the season championship point's standings and the Quarter Master "Rookie of the Year" standings.

The race saw three different leaders with Justin Rattliff leading the first 17 laps as he would eventually finish second to Casey. Hartman, who started 13th on the grid and like Casey and Rattliff led the race at one time finished third followed by three-time and defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Earl Pearson, Jr. who placed fourth and starting eighth and 24th place starter Steve Casebolt had to take a series provisional but he stormed through the field to finish fifth.

Completing the top ten were Don O'Neal, Mike Marlar, John Gill, Steve Barnett and Dennis Erb, Jr.

Terry Casey (2nd from right) celebrates his Indiana Icebreaker victory with family at Brownstown Speedway.
Sixty-one late model entries were on hand for the event and John Gill topped the PRC Time Trials, stopping the clock at 13.798. The Modern Day Cowboy as he's come to be known, set the invert at two by the spin of the wheel as is custom with the touring series.

Starting on the outside of the front row for his heat race, Gill led wire-to-wire to automatically transfer to the A-Main. Wayne Chinn, Justin Ratliff, Matt Miller, Brian Birkhofer and Wes Steidinger also were heat winners.

Former Brownstown point champion, Steve Barnett struggled in his heat race, but got his setup locked in by consolation time.

Barnett dominated the event to earn the transfer spot and a place in the big money 50-lap A-Main event with the winner claiming $10,000.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will next be in action with a three-day jaunt to the State of Georgia starting on Thursday Night, April 3rd at the Swainsboro Raceway in Swainsboro, GA for a $7,000 to win event, followed on Friday Night, April 4th for a $10,000 to win race at Screven Motor Speedway in Sylvania, GA and the weekend tops off at the Golden Isles Speedway in Brunswick, GA on Saturday Night, April 5th for a $10,000 to win race that will taped by SPEED Channel and shown on a date and time to be announced in the future.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series "Indiana Icebreaker" Feature Finish (50 Laps): Terry Casey, Justin Rattliff, Bart Hartman, Earl Pearson, Jr., Steve Casebolt, Don O'Neal, Mike Marlar, John Gill, Steve Barnett, Dennis Erb Jr., Wayne Chinn, Brad Neat, Scott James, Dan Schlieper, Rohn Moon, Kevin Claycomb, Cody Mahoney, Freddy Smith, Ryan Dauber, Matt Miller, Wes Steidinger, Brian Birkhofer, Brady Smith, Billy Drake

UMP Modified feature

FEATURE: Nick Allen, Matt Boknecht, Lee Hobbs, Matt Bex, Victor Lee, Jared Bailey, Chris Streeval, Dustin Christy, Ryan Thomas, Clint Demoss, Kevin Deyoung, Joe Hunley, Darrell Burton, Kenny Carmichael, Matt Hamilton, Scotty Kincaid, Elliott Despain, Greg Amick, Jay Ledford, Josh Ferguson

B-Main winners: Greg Amick, Darrell Burton

Heat winners: Joe Junley, Victor Lee, Matt Boknecht, Kevin Deyoung

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: