[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 52°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 47°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

County golf teams compete in conference tourneys

Sunday, May 11, 2008

Clay City's Andy Schaeffer lines up a putt. Schaeffer carded a 98 for the Eels in the SWIAC Tourney.
Staff Reports

SULLIVAN -- The Northview Knights got All-Conference efforts from Kade Baker, Drew Snyder and Matt Williams to place second at the Western Indiana Conference meet on Saturday at the Sullivan Elks course.

The Edgewood Mustangs got a score of 315 to claim top honors by nine strokes over the Knights South Vermillion's Jordan Lowry shot the low medalist score of 70.

Kade Baker Drew Snyder and Matt Williams led the Knights in scoring with a 79 along with an 80 from Josh Strain. Jordan Gaskill added an 87 and Daniel Eaglin carded an 88.

At the Phil Harris Course in Linton, George Fritch was the low medalist with a 76 to pace the Miners' win at the SWIAC victory.

The Miners shot a team score of 318 to best North Daviess' 343 and Union's 353. Clay City placed fifth with a score of 367.

The Eels were led by Josh Strain's 80 and a 91 from Dale Stoops. Andy Schaffer shot a 98 and Braxton Griffith added a 98 as well.

Western Indiana Conference Golf Meet

At Sullivan Elks

Team Scores: Edgewood 315, Northview 324, South Vermillion 327, Brown County 331, Sullivan 351, West Vigo 361, Owen Valley 393


Jordan Lowry (SV) 70, Josiah Ashba (EW) 77, Evan Miller (WV) 77, Mitch Oard (EW) 78, Kade Baker (Nv) 79, Matt Williams (Nv) 79, Drew Snyder (Nv) 79, Harrison Carmichael (EW) 80, Kyle Pace (EW) 80, Brandon Bekkering (SV) 81, Brian Milloy (BC) 81, Max Niehens (BC) 81

Other Northview: Jordan Gaskill, 87, Daniel Eaglin, 88.

Southwestern Indiana Athletic Conference Golf Tourney

At Phil Harris Course

Team Scores: Linton 318, North Daviess 343, Union (Dugger) 353, Bloomfield 363, Clay City 367, Eastern (Greene) 386, Shakamak 447, White River Valley 489

Low Medalist: George Fritch (Ln) 76


George Fritch (Ln) 76, Jordan Bradbury (Ln) 77, Kent George (Ln) 81, Chase Rhoten (Ln) 84, Ricky Graber (ND) 80, Neil Parsons (ND) 85, Josh Strain (CC) 80, Travis Inman (BL) 80, Bubby Lucas (Un) 79

Linton: George Fritch 76, Jordan Bradbury 77, Kent George 81, Chase Rhoten 84, Brady Stefancik 91

N. Daviess: Ricky Graber 80, Neil Parsons 85, Blake Burkhart 89, Logan Brinegar 89, Blane Lawyer 92.

Union: Bubbi Lucas 79, Taylor House 87, Michael Talpas 88, Logan Chesterfield 99, Shelby Shott 109.

Bloomfield: Travis Inman 80, Derek Corn 92, Taylor Helms 94, Jordan Savell 97, Andrew Bladen 99.

Clay City: Josh Strain 80, Dale Stoops 91, Braxton Griffith 98, Andrew Schaffer 98, Derrick Buis 111.

Eastern: David McNeil 89, Kendall Byers 92, Chris Graham 100, Sam Jacob 105.

Shakamak: Daniel Stevens 91, Garrett Scott 113, Nick Harris 114, Chris Johnson 129.

WRV: Matt Crowe 118, Chai Park 118, Keith Sapp 118, Jim Gregg 135, Dillon Emmons 135.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: