[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 52°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 47°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Three is the magic number for Hillman

Sunday, May 18, 2008

Kent Christian celebrates his sprint car victory on Saturday night at Lincoln Park?Speedway.

Times Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE -- Mooresville's Chris Hillman has found Lincoln Park Speedway to his liking this year. Coming in with back-to-back super stock feature wins at the Putnamville oval, following Saturday's action you can make three the magic number.

With a track that took rubber quickly during the evening, Hillman's William's Precision Engine was more than enough to power him to victory followed by Doug McCullough and David Bumgardner.

Hillman, sponsored by Mooresville Welding, Kay's Hardwood Floors and B.C. Chassis, won his heat race and drew the pole for the feature event and never let up from green flag to checkered.

Bumgardner made several charges at McCullough down the stretch, but didn't quite have enough to make the pass for second.

Much of the battle took place farther back in the pack.

Curt Leonard and Kenny Carmichael Jr. duked it out for several laps in a contest for fourth place that eventually went to Leonard. Joe Whisler and Kris Starks were also in the thick for the fourth place hunt, but Starks spun late to drop back to 10th place as Whisler placed sixth overall. Slick Griffin scored a seventh spot with Travis Heramb and Elijah Himinger in ninth.

Thirty-one sprint cars unloaded for Saturday's card at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Lloyd Walls (No. 1)?challenges eventual winner C.J. Bryan (No. 56) during the final lap of the bomber feature at Lincoln Park Speedway.
Terre Haute's Shawn Krockenberger won the opening heat race with Ty Deckard and Troy Link also scoring victories.

In the A-Main, Link powered his way out to a seemingly comfortable early lead followed by Kent Christian and Deckard. Krockenberger and Danny Holtsclaw kept the front-runners in their sights and bided their time for a shot.

As Link built a half straightaway lead near the midpoint of the feature, Holtsclaw slipped off turn two to lose a few spots and Blake Fitzpatrick moved up to fifth place and Shane Hollingsworth advanced to seventh ahead of Bill Rose.

With seven laps remaining, Jonathan Hendrick got into the left rear tire of Kenny Carmichael Jr. in turn four and got upside down and ended the night for both drivers.

The red flag period seemed to give Christian just the break he needed.

On the re-start, Christian began reeling in Link in a hurry and eventually slipped past Link with four laps remaining and wouldn't be caught in the MPHG Promotions, BCI, Reds Reamers, RL Carter Trucking and DD Performance sprinter.

Christian crossed the finish line ahead of Deckard, Link, Krockenberger, Holtsclaw, Hollingsworth, Rose, Dickie Gaines, Billy Puterbaugh and Shain Matthews.

One night after taking a 13th place in a WolfPack Challenge event at Bloomington and breaking the qualifying record on the red clay, Ray Humphrey found victory lane.

The Bloomington driver registered himself as one of the men to beat by winning his UMP Modified heat race along with Paul Bumgardner and Mark Auler.

Starting up front, Humphrey grabbed the lead from the green flag with Bumgardner, Travis Shoulders and Daryl Herbert in pursuit.

All three are talented veterans and, though they raced each other hard for that second place spot, still raced a clean race while bringing the fans to the edge of their seats.

Shoulders got a good, aggressive run into turn one late in the feature to challenge Bumgardner and likely could have spun him for the spot, but checked up to avoid the contact that could have taken both drivers out.

Humphrey's Reeves Logging, Williams Racing Engines, Van Horn Graphics' Franklin-built racecar maintained his lead for the feature victory. Bumgardner retained second ahead of Shoulders, Herbert, Auler, Kenny Carmichael Sr., Wes McClara, Jaymie Turner, Carlos Bumgardner and Wayne Cooper in the top-10.

It's been a long while since C.J. Bryan cruised into victory lane according to the Terre Haute-driver, who took a while off from racing.

On Saturday, he re-visited the winners' area, holding off a very determined Lloyd Walls, who came from the back after winning the bomber feature last weekend.

Bryan chased down Kevin Kemp in the early laps to grab the lead in the Specialty Graffix, Advance Auto Parts, Potts Tax Service machine.

Bryan and Brazil's Ron Wallen Jr. put on a side-by-side show with Kemp and Walls joining the fray.

The group managed to avoid any real contact despite a thrilling show for the crowd.

Bryan moved into the top spot and both Wallen and Walls continued their side-by-side battle. Walls eventually slipped past into second place and closed on Bryan during the final laps, but couldn't quite catch him in the waning laps.

Bryan took his first win of the year in the Joe's Hobby Barn and Durabuilt racing bomber ahead of Walls, Wallen, Kemp, Michael Thompson, Ryan Freeland, Marc Yakel, Sean Yakel, David Daniels and Brad Neese.

Next week will be a regular card of sprints, modifieds, super stocks and bombers and will also feature a kids' bicycle race for several different age groups.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: