[The Brazil Times nameplate] Light Rain ~ 58°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 48°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Stanbrough claims KISS series victory at Bloomington

Sunday, June 1, 2008

Jon Stanbrough prepares to roll out for hot laps at Bloomington Speedway on Friday night. Stanbrough went on to win his 13th KISS feature.

Times Sports Editor

BLOOMINGTON -- Jon Stanbrough is certainly no stranger to Victory Lane, especially during the King of Indiana Sprint Series.

With 12 KISS wins on his resume, Stanbrough was charged with besting a massive 60-car field to add to that total on Friday night.

Consider it done.

The Fox Brothers sprinter found the checkers once again on the red clay of Bloomington, but had to do it from a 15th starting position in the A-Main.

Jeff Bland Jr., Bret Mellenberndt, Brady Short, Jimmy Light, Cole Whitt and Kenny Niflis were heat victors and Robert Ballou was the B-Main winner.

Whitt took advantage of starting from the front and set up an early lead over the field ahead of Mellenberndt and A.J. Anderson, but a spin by Bland brought out an early caution.

Whitt held that top spot until the 13th circuit when he tangled with Niflis, who got upside down on the front stretch, ending a great drive for Niflis, who had a top-five spot.

Whitt would re-start, but had to go to the back of the field.

By the 17th lap, Stanbrough had grabbed second place and one lap leader he overtook the lead and led the remainder of the way.

Levi Jones raced his way to second with one lap to go, but Brady Short got past at the finish line with Hunter Scheurenberg taking fourth and Anderson in fifth. Erin McIntosh had a great run to finish sixth with Robert Ballou, Ty Deckard, Jesse Cramer and Bland rounding the top-10.

In the UMP Modified feature, Brian Yeatman held the point for the first half of the feature, but Shelby Miles charged from his spot outside the front row to get by on the 11th lap.

Ray Humphrey ran second ahead of Kent Robinson before a spin sent him to the back of the pack. Robinson went on to place second ahead of John DeMoss, Josh Eads and Chad Combs.

In super stocks, Chris Hillman and Jeremy Hines were the front-runners, swiping the lead twice during the feature.

Hillman led the early stages of the main event as Hines overtook Jack Frye and zeroed in on Hillman.

Nine laps in, Hines swapped spots with Hillman for the lead only to have the Mooeresville No. 11 retake the spot on the 12th circuit. With one lap to go, the two made contact with Hines continuing on for the victory, Lee Hobbs grabbed second ahead of Hillman, Frye and Brad Cummings.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: