[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 53°F  
High: 61°F ~ Low: 48°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Cathedral sweeps Indiana High School Golf Championship

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

FRANKLIN -- Cathedral junior Corey Ziedonis birdied the first extra hole Wednesday to win a sudden-death playoff with Delta senior Chase Wright and capture the Indiana high school boys golf championship.

The win also provided the crowning moment for Cathedral, which won its first team title.

Ziedonis and Wright had tied for medalist honors with 36-hole scores of 137, 3 under par at the Legends of Indiana Golf Course.

Ziedonis won the playoff by reaching the green of the 490-yard, par-5 10th hole in two strokes and two-putting from 35 feet below the hole.

Wright's second shot landed in a water hazard short and to the right of the green. After taking a one-stroke penalty, his chip shot from 60 yards rolled 20 feet past the hole. When Ziedonis tapped in an eight-inch putt for his birdie, the match was over.

"I was just firing away," said Ziedonis, who first had to play his final three holes of the opening round at 7:30 a.m. after Tuesday's late-starting round was halted by darkness. He played those three holes in 2-under for a tournament-leading 65. Then he struggled briefly.

"At the beginning of today's round, I had a bogey and a triple (bogey)," Ziedonis said. "I felt it slipping away. I told myself, 'Make birdies until I run out of holes."'

His win capped an extraordinary two days for Cathedral.

As a four-man team, the Irish totaled a 2-over-par 562. That not only left Cathedral 22 strokes ahead of runner-up Avon, it shattered the 36-hole state record of 587 strokes set by Richmond in 2003.

Jason Seward, a senior, finished even par at 140 and juniors Henry Plager and Brad Gehl finished at 142 and 143, respectively, for second-ranked Cathedral.

Top-ranked Avon finished at 584, followed by Lafayette Jefferson at 591, Northridge at 601 and Hamilton Southeastern at 603.

Perry Meridian senior Aaron Monson and Crown Point freshman Nick Grubnich tied for third at 139.

Columbus North senior Tyler Duncan, who set a course record with a second-round 63 a year ago to win the 2007 tournament at 136, earned the mental attitude award Wednesday after finishing tied with three other players for fifth at 140.

Sharing fifth with Duncan were Seward, Evansville Reitz sophomore Drew Hrvatin and Avon freshman Patrick Rogers.

Indiana High School Boys Golf Championship Scores

By The Associated Press


At The Legends of Indiana Golf Course

Franklin, Ind.

Par: 36-34--70

Yardage: 6,530

Chase Wright, Delta69-68--137
Corey Ziedonis, Indpls Cathedral65-72--137
Nick Grubnich, Crown Point67-72--139
Aaron Monson, Indpls Perry Meridian70-69--139
Tyler Duncan, Columbus North70-70--140
Drew Hrvatin, Ev. Reitz71-69--140
Patrick Rogers, Avon70-70--140
Jason Seward, Indpls Cathedral68-72--140
Al Jennings, Homestead71-70--141
Zac Henderson, Northridge73-69--142
Henry Plager, Indpls Cathedral70-72--142
David Erdy, Castle70-73--143
Brad Gehl, Indpls Cathedral71-72--143
Nathan Smith, Northridge70-73--143
Adam Sumrall, Mishawaka Marian67-76--143
Ryan Grassel, Chesterton68-77--145
Trey Pfund, Providence70-75--145
Marc Ricafort, Noblesville70-75--145
Jacob Wagner, Lafayette Jeff74-71--145
Brian Wolpert, Lafayette Jeff74-72--146
Jacob Yocum, Lafayette Jeff74-72--146
Curtis Coverstone, Wawasee74-73--147
Alex Jones, Center Grove70-77--147
Parker Sheppard, Hamilton SE74-73--147
Wesley Bowman, Hamilton SE75-73--148
McCormick Clouser, Norwell71-77--148
Bryan Whitt, Avon70-78--148
Ronald Harris, Avon75-75--150
Kyle Perry, Bloomington South70-80--150
Jordan Dawes, Wawasee73-79--152
Bryant Demeter, Mishawaka Marian80-72--152
Andrew Wegeng, Avon74-78--152
Kyle Grassel, Chesterton74-79--153
David Janney, Avon81-72--153
Will Kleinrichert, Hamilton SE78-75--153
Ryan Williamson, Lafayette Jeff77-77--154
Josh Kalita, Chesterton79-76--155
Christopher Schwager, Hamilton SE77-78--155
Charles Castino, Noblesville77-79--156
Michael Jenkins, Wawasee74-82--156
Jackson Van Meter, Noblesville81-75--156
John Norton, Noblesville75-82--157
Nicholas Fitzpatrick, Mish. Marian77-81--158
Stephen Sexton, Mishawaka Marian78-80--158
Ben Beutler, Lafayette Jeff82-77--159
David Long, Northridge80-79--159
Collin Roberts, Northridge77-83--160
Grant Braden, Hamilton SE81-80--161
Daniel McShane, Mishawaka Marian83-78--161
Kevin Bowen, Indpls Cathedral80-82--162
Andy Morrison, Northridge82-81--163
Nick Stasil, Chesterton82-81--163
Rees Woodcock, Wawasee80-84--164
John Kirkwood, Wawasee81-85--166
S.WuletichSP.Herrod, Chesterton89-82--171
E.StegerED.Collins, Noblesville82-90--172

Team Scores

Indianapolis Cathedral274-288--562
Lafayette Jeff299-292--591
Hamilton Southeastern304-299--603
Mishawaka Marian302-308--610

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: