[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 54°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 59°F
Saturday, July 2, 2016

Assistance available now to 26 counties

Sunday, June 22, 2008

INDIANAPOLIS -- On Sunday, Gov. Mitch Daniels announced officials with the Indiana Department of Homeland Security and Federal Emergency Management Agency, public assistance is now available to 26 counties in Indiana, including Clay County, to help pay for emergency services and to repair or replace public facilities damaged by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that began May 30.

Governmental entities, municipal authorities, and certain private nonprofit organizations in Bartholomew, Brown, Daviess, Decatur, Greene, Hancock, Henry, Jackson, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Madison, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Parke, Pike, Putnam, Randolph, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Vermillion, Vigo and Washington counties are now eligible for all categories of public assistance.

Under the cost-share program, FEMA public assistance funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work by state and local governments and certain nonprofit organizations that provide public services. The state manages the grants for all projects.

More counties are currently being assessed for public assistance by joint federal and state disaster assessment teams and will be added when they become eligible. Sunday's designation is in addition to the June 8 federal major disaster declaration and amendments providing individual assistance to 37 counties, including Clay County.

Federal and state officials urge homeowners, renters and businesses affected by the storms, tornadoes and flooding to apply for disaster assistance immediately by calling 1-800-621-FEMA. Registration lines and online registration is available at www.fema.gov.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: