[The Brazil Times nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 74°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 46°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Cramer claims $1,000 payday at Paragon; Hillman continues to roll

Sunday, June 29, 2008

Chase Briscoe (bottom) battles with rim-riding Chris Babcock in their heat race. Briscoe placed fourth in the feature.

Times Sports Editor

PARAGON -- Jesse Cramer's transition from modified racing to sprint cars has been remarkably quick this season.

On Saturday night, Cramer claimed a $1,000 payday at Paragon Speedway, claiming the special A-Main event over 28 other competitors.

Cramer, a regular at Bloomington Speedway in the modified ranks the past several years, has followed in the successful footsteps of Brady Short and Jeff Bland, who have made the successful move to sprint car racing.

Cramer bested one of his Bloomington rivals in the A-Main as Jon Siscoe raced home to a second-place ahead of Ray Kenens and young Chase Briscoe, who was a heat race winner and parlayed that into his best feature finish of the season. Jared Harris of Greenwood took fifth, Lance Grimes and Michael Bridges was seventh. In eighth-place was Sullivan's Chase Stockton ahead of Nick Bilbee and Brent Barry wrapped the top-10.

Tony Walker (No. 56) holds off fellow Bloomington driver Mike Jones (No. 70)?during heat race action at Paragon Speedway. Walker took fifth in the feature while Jones was eighth.
Camby's Chris Hillman has had one of the best season's of any driver in the state regardless of class.

The super stock pilot grabbed his second consecutive Paragon Speedway feature ahead of Lee Hobbs and Bloomington's Steve Hollars.

Though he's been one of Lincoln Park Speedway's top regulars on Saturday's this spring, Hillman is certainly no stranger to Paragon, as the three-time defending track champion.

Hillman was third in the national UMP Sportsman points coming into this weekend and the win should boost his chase for the national title. Currently, Spencer's Jeremy Hines holds the top spot with 1,224 points ahead of Brad Cummings' 1,207 and Hillman's 1,200.

Franklin's Mark Smith came into Saturday night's action trailing Bloomfield's Justin Porter by just 31 points in the season bomber points.

The tight race showed just 33 points separating the top-five spots.

The A-main did nothing to change that as Smith rolled to the victory ahead of Bobby Gardner, who happens to sit in third-place in the points. Porter placed third in the feature ahead of Gib Ham Jr. and Ben Williams.

Paragon's own Nathan Byrum took the checkers in the pure stock feature ahead of Jeff Herron and Bowling Green's Junior Shepherd took fourth. Danny Ray Wampler took fifth.

Next week's schedule has the All-Star Circuit of Champions winged sprint cars along with street stocks, bombers and pure stocks.

Sprint feature

1. Jesse Cramer, 2. Jon Siscoe, 3. Ray Kenens, 4. Chase Briscoe, 5. Jared Harris, 6. Lance Grimes, 7. Michael Bridges, 8. Chase Stockton, 9. Nick Bilbee, 10. Brent Berry, 11. Nick Johnson, 12. Jake Scott, 13. Steve Rone, 14. Arin Mcintosh, 15. Jim Dugan, 16. Eric Smith, 17. Brian Crawford, 18. Brandon Mattox, 19. Chris Babcock, 20. Tony Reed

B-Main winner: Nick Johnson

Heat winners: Tony Reed, Chase Stockton, Chase Briscoe, Jesse Cramer

Super Stock feature

1. Chris Hillman, 2. Lee Hobbs, 3. Steve Hollars, 4. Tony Anderson, 5. Tony Walker, 6. Jeremy Potts, 7. Steve Peeden, 8. Mike Jones, 9. Scott Fisher, 10. Blake Myers, 11. Greg Logsdon, 12. Jason Clark, 13. Joe Deckard, 14. Willie Marcum, 15. Doug DeMoss, 16. Rob Paris, 17. Duane Brown, 18. Kenneth Kelley, 19. David Woolston, 20. Greg Amick

B-Main winner: Kenneth Kelley

Heat winners: Chris Hillman, Tony Walker, Lee Hobbs

Bomber feature

1. Mark Smith, 2. Bobby Gardner, 3. Justin Porter, 4. Gib Ham Jr., 5. Ben Williams, 6. Jim Litton Jr., 7. John Grenier Jr., 8. Kevin Jones, 9. Jeremy Payne, 10. Mike Moody, 11. Jared Litton, 12. Scott Sheeks, 13. Jim York, 14. Jerry Bruner, 15. Don Baker, 16. Don Baker, 17. Terry Leitzman, 18. Barry Hicks, 19. Roger Absher, 20. Brian Cahill, 21. Mike Callahan

B-Main winners: Jim Litton Jr., Terry Leitzman

Heat winners: John Grenier Jr., Justin Porter, Mark Smith, Mike Moody

Pure Stock Feature

1. Nathan Byrum, 2. Jeff Herron, 3. Kyle Zike, 4. Junior Shepherd, 5. Danny Ray Wampler, 6. Dan Wampler, 7. Justin White, 8. Tom Houston, 9. John Evans, 10. Mike Delp, 11. Cory Janis, 12. Jordan Williams, 13. Mike McClain, 14. Kenny Polley III

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: