[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fog/Mist ~ 46°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Shaeffer and Smith claim All-Star sprint victories

Sunday, July 6, 2008

Sixteen-year old Blake Fitzpatrick wheels his winged sprinter around Terre Haute's Action Track on Friday. [Order this photo]
By Rober Cortrum

Midwest All Star

Series PR

PARAGON -- The stands were packed, the parking lot was overflowing, and the pits were crammed, this is just the beginning part of Saturday night at Paragon Speedway featuring the O'Reilly Midwest All Star Series. The end came in tow with Danny Smith defending his 2007 Paragon win by taking the checkers again with the Midwest All Star Series.

Smith, who won his Heat Race and set Quick Time on the night, showed he was strong by methodically picking off cars and using restart strategies to gain the advantage over Jerrod Hull midway through the feature. The win is Smith's second O'Reilly Midwest All Star feature win of the season as he picked up the season opener. Hull would go on to finish second in the event with Randy Hannagan in the Penthouse/Pocket Shot #1X taking third . Rounding out the top-five, Paul May in the Mike's Towing #71M and AJ Bruns in the family owned #44.

Heat race action was as hot as the weather. Fans witnessed the before mentioned Danny Smith picking up the first heat in his Kiger Signs sponsored #4. Thirteen-year-old Chase Briscoe picked up his first O'Reilly Midwest All Star Heat win during the second session. Jerrod Hull showed the way in his familiar Ozarc Gas Welding Supercenter #12H in the third heat. Local favorite Jeff Bland, Jr. took home top honors in the fourth heat with an impressive run.

Ryan Bunton in the Morton Collision Center #6R mount won the Dash event. Only O'Reilly Midwest All Star Series members are selected for the event with their qualifying times dictating who starts. Bunton would show the way and take home the additional six much needed season points.

The B-Main for the evening was packed with stars from both the O'Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions and the O'Reilly Midwest All Star Series.

Blake Feese in the Dave Jessup owned 7K would bring home the checkers.

Brian Ellenberger, "Wild" Bill Rose, and Jeremy Standridge would follow and gain the transfer positions.


Friday night

Pennsylvania's Tim Shaeffer was the class of the field at the historic Terre Haute Action Track on Friday night.

Shaeffer lapped all the way up to the seventh-place position in the A-Main and held off the competition after a late re-start.

Danny Smith finished second ahead of Brandon Martin, Lance DeWease, Randy Hannagan, Greg Wilson, Dale Blaney and Blake Feese.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: