[The Brazil Times nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 63°F  
High: 61°F ~ Low: 48°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Optimist Club announces golf winners

Friday, July 18, 2008

Finishing first, second and third in the boys' 10-13-year-old division were (from left) Ian Bailey, Andrew Weisheit and Nate Thomas. Courtesy Photo.
The 2008 Clay County Breakfast Optimist Club Junior Golf Tournament took place at the Forest Park Golf Course recently with a total of 56 boys and girls, ages 10-18, competing in individual age brackets.

Jeremy Redman won the boys' 16-18-year-old bracket in a playoff, defeating Jeff Ackman. Both shot 74s in their round.

J.J. Burns came in third with a 76 and the top three individuals received trophies.

Finishing first, second and third in the boys' 16-18-year-old bracket of the Optimist Club Junior Golf Tournament were (from left) Jeremy Redman, Jeff Ackman and J.J. Burns. Courtesy Photo.
Tyler Schrong and Jordan Gaskill both tallied 76s while Daniel Eaglin had a 78 and Matt Wiliams had a 79. Bryon Felchlea and Drew Snyder both finished at 80 while Jarrod Short had a 94 and Thomas Colburn had a 102.

In the girls' 16-18-year-old bracket, Darin Pinnick finished first with a 75 while Kelsey Fuqua was second at 79. Claudia Padgett came in third with an 81.

Other scores included Mandy Thomlinson with a 93, Heather Hughes with a 96, Savannah Purcell with a 100, Sunny Shaw with a 101, Haley Miller with a 113, Ashley Maesch with a 126, McKaley Kinzer with a 129, Faith Jones with a 134 and Kristina Jones with a 141.

Finishing second, first and third in the boys' 14-15-year-old bracket were (from left) Josh Hoskins, Ben Dulin and Chris Broman. Courtesy Photo.
In the boys' 14-15-year-old bracket, Ben Dulin and Josh Hoskins both tied with a 76 but Dulin managed to drain a long putt on the second playoff hole to capture the title.

Other scores included Chris Broman with an 81, Brad Smith with an 83, Mason Short and Eric Newton with 85s, Jon Payne with an 87, Luke Jerrells with a 92 and Cody Doll with a 99.

In the girls' 14-15-year-old division, Malina Padgett won with an 87. Blythe Wildridge came in second at 102 while Abby Williams was third at 104.

Malina Padgett won first in the 14-15-year-old girls' division of the Optimist Club Junior Golf Tournament. Courtesy Photo.
Other scores included Mikala Barber at 107 and Hillary Thomas at 143.

The boys' 10-13-year-old division played only nine holes. Ian Bailey placed first with a 41 while Andrew Weisheit was second at 44. Nate Thomas came in third at 46.

Other scores included Jessie Miller with a 52, Gabriel Rogers with a 53, Dominic Desantis with a 54, Dylan Sutherlin with a 55, Brendan O'Connell and Austin Bowen each with a 57, Kurtis Overpeck with a 58, Keagan Roembke and Cam Brown with 60s, Ashern Mace with a 62, T.J. Kibbe with a 63 and Steve Reinoehl with a 67.

Sponsors for the event included Pepsi Cola, Forest Park Pool, Forest Park Golf Course, Golf Headquarters, Riddell National Bank, First Bank and Trust, A+ Printing, State Farm Insurance Agent John Howes and Moore Funeral Home.

Darrin Pinnick placed first in the 16-18-year-old girls' bracket of the Optimist Club Junior Golf Tournament. Courtesy Photo
At Forest Park

2008 Clay County Breakfast Optimist

Club Junior Golf Tournament Results

Boys' 16-18 Division -- Jeremy Redman 74, Jeff Ackman 74, J.J. Burns 76, Tyler Schrong 76, Jordan Gaskill 76, Daniel Eaglin 78, Matt Williams 79, Bryon Felchlea 80, Drew Snyder 80, Jarrod Short 94, Thomas Colburn 102.

Girls' 16-18 Division -- Darin Pinnick 75, Kelsey Fuqua 79, Claudia Padgett 81, Mandy Thomlinson 93, Heather Hughes 96, Savannah Purcell 100, Sunny Shaw 101, Haley Miller 113, Ashley Maesch 126, McKaley Kinzer 129, Faith Jones 134, Kristina Jones 141.

Boys' 14-15 Division -- Ben Dulin 76, Josh Hoskins 76, Chris Broman 81, Brad Smith 83, Mason Short 85, Eric Newton 85, Jon Payne 87, Luke Jerrells 92, Cody Doll 99.

Girls' 14-15 Division -- Malina Padgett 87, Blythe Wildridge 102, Abby Williams 104, Mikala Barber 107, Hillary Thomas 143.

Boys' 10-13 Division -- Ian Bailey 41, Andrew Weisheit 44, Nate Thomas 46, Jessie Miller 52, Gabriel Rogers 53, Dominic Desantis 54, Dylan Sutherlin 55, Brendan O'Connell 57, Austin Bowen 57, Kurtis Overpeck 58, Keagan Roembke 60, Cam Brown 60, Ashern Mace 62, T.J. Kibbe 63, Steve Reinoehl 67.

Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable. Please also note that those who post comments on thebraziltimes.com may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.

hahaha. im in this. im mason short.sweeet

-- Posted by masonman525 on Sun, Jul 27, 2008, at 12:09 AM

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: