[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 66°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Jones clinches Indiana Sprint Week championship

Sunday, July 20, 2008

Tri-State Press Release

Haubstadt - Hunter Schuerenberg of Sikeston, MO, drove to victory in the 30 lap United States Auto Club Sprint Car feature held Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway. Schuerenberg's win was his first ever in USAC competition. He took the lead from Damion Gardner on the fifth lap. The two exchanged the lead down the front stretch, again in the first turn, and once more coming off turn two. Schuerenberg would remain in front the rest of the race. Within a few laps after restarts he would pull away from the competition. Hunter was able to ride the track cushion to perfection as it moved up in the turns. It was one of his 100% sure performances!

Schuerenberg was diving the Walker/Guiducci entry. After a half dozen victory donuts in turn four he reported for the victory lane ceremony. Even though his margin of victory was 2.8 seconds he had kept his foot hard on the throttle. "I had no clue as to where everybody else was." He then thanked everybody including his crew for giving him a great race car and saluted the appreciative Tri-State fans. "Everybody knows that it means a lot to win a USAC race. It is just awesome! It's the same for me."

Levi Jones finished second with Tony Stewart Racing Teammate and top qualifier Tracy Hines running third. Jones started the feature four points behind Dave Darland in the battle for the Indiana Sprint Week Crown. Darland would finish sixth in the feature. With the runner-up finish Jones would win his second speed week title. Jeff Bland Jr. finished fourth and Damion Gardner was fifth. Brady Short, Jerry Coons Jr., Thomas Meseraull, and Robert Ballou rounded out the top ten.

Some of the excitement generated in the feature was not about the cars on the ground but those in the air. The first red was displayed after six laps when Hud Cone flipped exiting turn four as Chris Windom and Shane Cottle got together ahead of him. On the 17th lap Jon Stanbrough's car catapulted down the backstretch after contact with another car. A five car chain reaction crash in turn three earlier eliminated Daron Clayton, Brad Sweet, and Dustin Morgan. Despite the close competition 16 of the 23 starters were running at the conclusion of the feature.

Brady Short, Hud Cone, Jeff Bland Jr., and Robert Ballou won the heat races. Damion Gardner took the semi-feature with Thomas Meseraull second. During heat three John Memmer took a wild ride down the backstretch. As drivers checked up he got airborne along the wall and after rolling the car went end for end four or five times. Kyle Robbins had the misfortune to get upside with his sprint in the Semi with the car landing on its top in the infield. No injuries were reported following any of the incidents.

Everett Bradham of Olney, IL, led all 25 laps to win the UMP Modified feature. Brandon Dierlam of Chandler, IN, finished second. Dierlam never got the opportunity he needed to make a move. Everett explained how it felt to be in the lead, "I was trying to not make any mistakes. I could see Brandon right there!"

The battle for third was the hottest on the track. Danny Claycomb prevailed. Chris Moore and Zack Fair challenged. Moore ran third for 7 laps. Fair who had started in the last row found the high line productive and roared up to claim fifth. The sixteen cars starting this feature came to race with positions changing in every turn!

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: