[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 52°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 47°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Deadline to apply for assistance set

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Residents and business owners living in the 40 counties included in the recent presidential disaster declaration have less than one month left to register for federal disaster assistance.

The designated counties are Clay, Adams, Bartholomew, Brown, Daviess, Dearborn, Decatur, Gibson, Grant, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Henry, Huntington, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Parke, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Tippencanoe, Vermillion, Vigo, Washington and Wayne.

Aug. 11 is the last day applications will be accepted by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for individual assistance. Loan applications for homeowners, renters and businesses of any size to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for disaster-related losses to real and personal property also must be submitted by Aug. 11.

Federal and state disaster recovery officials urge eligible residents affected by recent storms and flooding to apply as soon as possible by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Speech or hearing-impaired residents may call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Individuals also may register for disaster assistance at www.fema.gov.

Applicants who have questions about disaster assistance programs or questions about the status of a previously filed application should continue to use FEMA's helpline at 1-800-621-3362, Monday-Friday, from 7 a.m.-7 p.m., and Saturday, from 9 a.m.-4 p.m.

For more information on the loan program, call 1-800-659-2955.

Currently, a total of $85,366,493 in disaster recovery grants and loans have been approved for Indiana disaster victims.

Included in that total are the following:

* Housing Assistance grants approved, $40,379,971,

* Other Needs Assistance grants approved, $7,469,722,

* 16,151 people in the 40 designated counties in Indiana have called the toll-free number to apply for disaster assistance,

* 13,564 inspections have been completed, and

* 10,248 people have visited the Disaster Recovery Centers in Indianapolis, Columbus, Terre Haute, Martinsville and Franklin.

In addition, according to information provided by representatives of FEMA, Gov. Mitch Daniels has requested all governmental agencies affected by recent storms, flooding and tornadoes, have a 30-day extension to notify the state they wish to participate in the FEMA Public Assistance program.

Agencies and eligible nonprofits should get requests in as soon as possible.

The program differs from other forms of federal disaster assistance in that it's made available to help restore the services of state and local government and certain nonprofit organizations following disasters.

It will help pay for emergency work and to repair public facilities damaged by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that took place from May 30 to June 27.

The first step to get assistance is to file a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) with the state.

So far, 280 RPA's have been submitted, but officials feel there are many more requests yet to be made.

Applicants may attend and complete the form at any of the Applicant Briefings the state has scheduled.

The request forms may also be downloaded at www.in.gov/dhs. Those wishing to apply are then asked to fax the completed form to 1-317-598-8952.


The Federal Emergency Management Agency Mobile Disaster Center located in Spencer will remain open until 7 p.m. Friday.

The center is located at Spencer Elementary School, 151 Hillside Ave.

Applicants may come to the center regardless of where they live. Representatives from FEMA?and the United States Small Business Administration will be on hand to field questions.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: