[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 54°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 47°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Darland claims Sumar Classic

Thursday, July 24, 2008

Dave Darland leads Jon Stanbrough down the front stretch and into turn one during Wednesday's Sumar Classic in Terre Haute.

Times Sports Editor

TERRE HAUTE -- Dave Darland took home a Silver Crown victory at the Terre Haute Action Track Wednesday night, winning the 11th-annual Sumar Classic over Jerry Coons Jr.

Darland overcame a late bobble, brushing the wall with just seven laps remaining in the 100-lap affair, but corrected in time to maintain his advantage on the way to the victory. Coons was second in the series points coming into the race and left with a 17-point advantage over Levi Jones, who came home in sixth-place.

Twenty-three cars qualified for the event that kicked off a great week of racing in the state of Indiana.

The Silver Crown series and midgets took the USAC banner to O'Reilly Raceway Park on Thursday night and the USAC Midgets battle for $10,000 to win at Anderson Friday and Saturday night. Qualifying begins at 12:30 p.m. Friday and sets the Saturday night field. The 400-lap main event takes place on Saturday with gates opening at 4 p.m.

Darland was fast qualifier at 21.663, edging out Hines, piloting the Tony Stewart owned No. 22.

In the feature, Hines' teammate Levi Jones, led 11 laps near the middle of the event before Darland slipped past in turn three and didn't give up the advantage. Darland, in the Foxco-owned car, built a big lead before a red flag for a flip by Russ Gamester on the 62nd lap leveled the playing field again. On the restart, Darland built another strong lead and survived the late contact with the wall to take the checkered flag.

Coons placed second ahead of Shane Cottle and Brian Tyler with Robinson, Ill. native Mat Neely in fifth. Jones was sixth ahead of Jesse Hockett, Tom Caple, Chris Urish and Patrick Bruns in the top-10.

First Financial Bank Sumar Classic

Wednesday night

Dave Darland, 56, Foxco-21.663; 2. Tracy Hines, 22, Stewart-21.715; 3. Jerry Coons Jr., 27, RW-21.732; 4. Jon Stanbrough, 5, Baldwin-21.745; 5. Shane Hollingsworth, 20, Nolen-21.870; 6. Levi Jones, 10, Stewart-21.907; 7. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., 199, Edwards/RE-21.997; 8. Tyler Walker, 32, RFMS-22.061; 9. Chris Windom, 03, Dooling-22.076; 10. Bud Kaeding, 29, BK-22.117; 11. Shane Cottle, 4, Contos-22.187; 12. Cole Whitt, 65, Hartenstine-22.251; 13. Brian Tyler, 21, Team Six-R-22.282; 14. Darren Hagen, 92, DDK-22.381; 15. Jesse Hockett, 28, Pierson-22.572; 16. Kevin Huntley, 97, SC-22.970; 17. Mat Neely, 17, RW-23.026; 18. Craig Dori, 38, Shoestring-23.215; 19. Russ Gamester, 51, Gamester-23.617; 20. Chris Urish, 77, Urish-23.700; 21. Tom Capie, 153, Capie-23.791; 22. Patrick Bruns, 81, Foster-24.522; 23. Rex Norris III, 163, Norris-29.829; 24. Dustin Morgan, 93, M & M-NT.


(100 laps) 1. Dave Darland, 2. Jerry Coons Jr., 3. Shane Cottle, 4. Brian Tyler, 5. Mat Neely, 6. Levi Jones, 7. Jesse Hockett, 8. Tom Capie, 9. Chris Urish, 10. Patrick Bruns, 11. Russ Gamester, 12. Craig Dori, 13. Kevin Huntley, 14. Shane Hollingsworth, 15. Rex Norris III, 16. Bud Kaeding, 17. Darren Hagen, 18. Jon Stanbrough, 19. Tyler Walker, 20. Cole Whitt, 21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., 22. Tracy Hines, 23. Chris Windom. NT

New Silver Crown points

1-Coons-146; 2-Jones-129; 3-Cottle-128; 4-Neely-124; 5-Hines-113; 6-Tyler-111; 7-Darland-102; 8-Hollingsworth-92; 9-Kaeding-81; 10-Wayne Reutimann Jr.-75.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: