[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 55°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 50°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Registration for FEMA assistance ends Monday

Thursday, August 7, 2008

Representatives from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are reminding Clay County residents that they have until Monday to register for disaster assistance.

Eligible state residents and business owners who sustained damage from storms and flooding that took place from May 30-June 27, should register for disaster assistance immediately.

New applications will not be accepted after the Monday deadline.

Loan applications to the United States Small Business Administration (SBA) for disaster-related losses to real and personal property also must be submitted by Monday.

Federal and state disaster recovery officials urge eligible residents who have not done so to apply as soon as possible by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or for the speech or hearing impaired, TTY 1-800-462-7585. Individuals also may register for disaster assistance at the FEMA website at www.fema.gov.

Applicants who have questions about the disaster assistance programs or questions about the status of their previously filed applications should continue to use FEMA's toll-free helpline at 1-800-621-3362.

Individuals with SBA questions may call the SBA Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 or TTY 1-800-877-8339 or online at www.sba.gov.

To date, more than 16,000 state residents have applied for disaster assistance.

In addition to Clay County, the designated counties include Adams, Bartholomew, Brown, Daviess, Dearborn, Decatur, Gibson, Grant, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Henry, Huntington, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Parke, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Vermillion, Vigo, Washington and Wayne.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

SBA is the federal government's primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: