[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 43°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Puterbaugh scores third consecutive LPS sprint victory

Sunday, August 24, 2008

Ben Williams (No. 3w) duals during bomber feature action with Brazil's Ron Wallen Sr.

Times Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE -- The 2008 racing season at Lincoln Park Speedway is beginning to look quite a bit like last year, which is good news for Billy Puterbaugh.

In 2007, Puterbaugh won four features at Lincoln Park Speedway on the way to claiming the points title. On Saturday night, Puterbaugh added his fourth win of 2008 and his third consecutive feature victory, besting Bobby Stines and Todd Kimmell across the finish line.

The win strengthened Puterbaugh's points lead over Dickie Gaines, who finished fourth on Saturday. Puterbaugh now leads 652 to 562 with Kenny Carmichael Sr. in third place ahead of Kimmell and Kenny Carmichael Jr.

Travis Shoulders (No. 166) holds the inside line while battling Phil VanSant (No. 31v) and Ralph Groomer (No. 48) during the UMP Modified feature at Lincoln Park Speedway.
On the basis of a runner-up finish in his heat race, Kimmell started on the point for the feature and led the opening laps ahead of Derek Williams and Blake Fitzpatrick.

Casey Shuman was a man on a mission from his second row starting position. Slinging the Bud's Auto Salvage sprinter into the corners looking for the lead.

Shuman had moved into a battle for the lead just ahead of Puterbaugh before jumping the cushion and losing a handful of positions.

Puterbaugh wasn't going to be denied a third feature win when he pulled a slide job into turn four that stuck and gave the Brownsburg native the lead.

Gaines was close on his heels however, and briefly got by Kimmell for second-place before a turn one pileup brought out the caution.

Williams was caught up in the melee and went to the back as Fitzpatrick also left the race along with Caleb Armstrong.

On the re-start, Puterbaugh again resumed his hunt for the checkers as Sines entered the mix along with Erik Folger and Joss Moffatt.

Puterbaugh began to pull away from the competition as Kimmell slipped past Gaines in a three-way battle that included Stines.

Up front, Puterbaugh's quest for win number four was nearly derailed when Andrew Prather spun in turn four, nearly collecting the Creative Design Embroidery-sponsored machine of Puterbaugh.

On the final re-start, Puterbaugh got the jump and pulled away to the victory ahead of Stines and Kimmell. Gaines placed fourth ahead of Moffatt, Jonathan Hendrick, Stephanie Tuttle, Carmichael Jr, Carmichael Sr. and Aaron Mosley.

In the UMP Modified feature, Cullen Goodman took over the lead after Ray Humphrey was eliminated after dominating the early stages of the event.

Goodman's First Financial Bank, Mathena's Contracting, Portworx, Men Against Breast Cancer, Donate Life sponsored machine took over the top spot though he was being chased by defending track champion Paul Bumgardner and Brad Robinson.

Bumgardner and Robinson were battling for that runner-up spot along with Gary Hall and the rapidly approaching Brian Hayden.

Clint DeMoss roared up into the top-10 and Travis Shoulders ran from a 17th-place start all the way to seventh overall.

Goodman was able to hold off late challenges from both Bumgardner and Robinson over the final laps of the race as DeMoss placed fourth ahead of Hayden, Phil VanSant, Shoulders, Mark Auler, Hall and Ryan Cary.

Bumgardner continues to lead the points' chase with 671 points ahead of Carmichael Sr. with 629 and Auler's 623. Shoulders is in fourth with 615.

In the super stock feature, Greencastle's David Bumgardner has been knocking on the door week after week and finally it was answered on Saturday night when he piloted the B & B Mobile Home Repair, Coatsville Auto Parts, Paramount Investment, Cyclone Graphics and Steinway Race Car body sponsored car to victory.

Bumgardner ran a very close second, one week earlier, but this time around he held off repeated challenges from Kris Starks and Chris Hillman over the entire feature.

Bumgardner led wire-to-wire and gained several points in the season chase. Kenny Carmichael Jr. still has the lead after a fifth-place finish, 688 to 647, with Joe Whisler in third, one point ahead of Hillman.

Last week's winner, Greg Amick, placed fourth ahead of Carmichael, Doug McCullough, Curt Leonard, Josh Fagg, Kenny Weaver and Whisler.

Thirty bombers took to the track at the Putnamville oval this week and when the dust cleared it was Ben Williams grabbing his second feature win of the year.

Ryan Freeland led the race early before slipping a bit high and losing several spots. Williams took over the lead as Bob Farris challenged him early before being sidelined late with a flat tire.

Ron Smith had Williams zeroed in, but wasn't quite able to reel in the Franklin-built machine. Michael Turner had his eyes on a top finish as Ron Wallen Jr. charged through the field from a 14th-place start.

Freeland was able to stay in third ahead of Wallen and Michael Thompson. David Daniels was fifth with Kevin Kemp, Justin Clodfelter, Sean Yakel and David Wallen.

The evening was a tough one for several points leaders as C.J. Bryan placed 13th while mechanical problems in heat races kept Lloyd Walls and Dustin Shoulders from the feature.

Bryan still leads the points with 690 ahead of Walls' 627 and Shoulders 599.

This week will be the King of Non-Wing sprint car event as well as the End of Year Fireworks Extravaganza. Ump Modifieds, Super Stocks and Bombers are also on the slate for Saturday evening.

Lincoln Park Speedway

Sprint Feature

1.Billy Puterbaugh, 2. Bobby Stines, 3. Todd Kimmell, 4. Dickie Gaines, 5. Joss Moffatt, 6. Jonathan Hendrick, 7. Stephanie Tuttle, 8. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 9. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 10. Aaron Mosley, 11. Travis Thompson, 12. Tyler Reddick, 13. Andrew Prather, 14. Erik Folger, 15. Casey Shuman, 16. Derek Williams, 17. Caleb Armstrong, 18. Troy Link, 19. Blake Fitzpatrick, 20. Dan Clodfelter

Heat winners: Casey Shuman, Blake Fitzpatrick

UMP Modified Feature

1.Cullen Goodman, 2. Paul Bumgardner, 3. Brad Robinson, 4. Clint DeMoss, 5. Brian Hayden, 6. Phil VanSant, 7. Travis Shoulders, 8. Mark Auler, 9. Gary Hall, 10. Ryan Cary, 11. Gordon Curtis, 12. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 13. Dan Lewellen, 14. Scott Ricketts, 15. Jared Hix, 16. Richie Lex, 17. Ralph Groomer, 18. Doug Bryant Jr., 19. Ray Humphrey, 20. Kenny Carmichael Sr.

B-Main winner: Carlos Bumgardner

Heat winners: Ralph Groomer, Brad Robinson, Ray Humphrey

UMP Super Stock Feature

1.David Bumgardner, 2. Kris Starks, 3. Chris Hillman, 4. Greg Amick, 5. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 6. Doug McCullough, 7. Curt Leonard, 8. Josh Fagg, 9. Kenny Weaver, 10. Joe Whisler, 11. Slick Griffin, 12. Elijah Himinger, 13. Scott Carrington, 14. Travis Heramb, 15. Tami Lawson

Heat winners: David Bumgardner, Kris Starks

Bomber Feature

1.Ben Williams, 2. Ron Smith, 3. Ryan Freeland, 4. Ron Wallen Jr., 5. Michael Thompson, 6. David Daniels, 7. Kevin Kemp, 8. Justin Clodfelter, 9. Sean Yakel, 10. David Wallen, 11. Dallas King, 12. Jake Hodge, 13. C.J. Bryan, 14. Ron Wallen Sr., 15. Bob Farris, 16. Michael McDougall, 17. Josh Ford, 18. Frank Cotton, 19. Josh Presley, 20. Dustin Shoulders

B-Main winner: Ron Wallen Jr.

Heat winners: Ryan Freeland, Ben Williams, Justin Clodfelter

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: