[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fog/Mist ~ 46°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Turn back the clocks Sunday

Friday, October 31, 2008

The following map indicates how the Continental United States are split into the (from right) Pacific, Mountain, Central and Eastern Time Zones. Daylight Savings Time officially ends at 2 a.m., Sunday.
Be prepared to "fall back" one hour.

Daylight Savings Time comes to an end at 2 a.m., Sunday, marking the third year Indiana has officially observed the time change.

Legislation was passed in April 2005 making Indiana the 48th state to observe Daylight Savings Time, beginning in 2006. Hawaii and the majority of Arizona do not observe Daylight Savings Time.

However it has not come without controversy.

Legislation initially mandated for the entire state to be on Eastern Time, but a review by the Department of Transportation led to eight counties in the northwest and southwest portions of the state being moved to the Central Time Zone.

The move made Indiana one of 13 states divided into two separate time zones. These states include:

* Eastern/Central Time Zone split -- Florida, Indiana, Michigan, Kentucky and Tennessee,

* Central/Mountain Time Zone split -- Kansas, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Texas,

* Mountain/Pacific Time Zone split -- Idaho and Oregon, and

* Alaska/Hawaii-Aleutian Time Zone split -- Alaska.

Since the first observance of Daylight Savings Time in Indiana on April 2, 2006, six counties -- Pulaski, Daviess, Dubois, Knox, Martin and Pike -- have been moved back into the Eastern Time Zone.

Twelve counties -- Gibson, Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Newton, Perry, Porter, Posey, Spencer, Starke, Vanderburgh and Warrick -- currently sit within the Central Time Zone. Perry and Starke counties are the lone two counties which were moved to Central Time that were not moved back to Eastern Time in 2007.

The debate continues today whether the entire state should move into a single time zone while others argue the state should return to the non-observance of Daylight Savings Time.

Daylight Savings Time will return as clocks will "spring forward" one hour March 9, 2009.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: